A tribute to Alan Vega

Dream Baby Dream, a tribute to Alan Vega
Proposed by Mathieu Copeland

Screening and discussion: September 20, 2016 6:30 p.m. 7 p.m. screening projection.
Cinema Dynamo, 4th floor of the Centre d’Art Contemporain. Free entrance.
Looped screening: 21.09 — 02.10.2016

Following to the passing of Alan Vega earlier this summer, the Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève is honoured to present a tribute to the influential artist with a screening of films proposed by Mathieu Copeland at the Cinema Dynamo. Realised between 1972 and 1978, these films show a publicly lesser known side to this uncompromising true radical artist, as they focus on the time when Alan Bermowitz became Alan Suicide, and was about to become Alan Vega.

 

Untitled

1972-2011, 14 minutes, 8mm transferred to HD, Video (color, sound)

A 14 minutes long film of footage Vega shot together with Mel Austin as they drove from NY to the opening of Alan Suicide’s exhibition Gallery Marc, Washington, 1972. A road trip that encompasses a journey at the racing tracks, shooting shotguns on vinyl, and Alan Vega’s light sculptures offering a rare document on his exhibition and the opening. A film from 1972, with a unique soundtrack realised in 2011 by Alan Vega.

 

Cinenema Warp

1972, 10 minutes approx., Super 8 transferred to DVD, silent, color.

A film by Cool P / Paul Liebegott. Actors: Joe Catuccio, Alan Suicide, Lynne Mayo. An artist's images come to life and eventually kill him. The title was inspired by an essay on film by Norman Mailer where he referred to film as "a sin enema." "Cinenema Warp" was only shown at artist Joe Catuccio's Soho loft on several occasions.

 

Big Casino

1977, 30 minutes approx., Super * transferred to DVD, color, sound (Tibetan Buddhist chants & orchestra).

A film by Cool P / Paul Liebegott. Main Actors: Joe Catuccio (the Don), Donald Greenhaus (the Mask), Alan Suicide (detective), Vernon Lake (Henchman). Also with: Laurie Fader, Annie Flash Untrash, Ken Peake, Marty Suicide, Ronnie Tendler, Richard Wells, Diane Torr, Sandy Knies.

A Mafia don hires a private detective to find the killer of his father. The film follows the investigation and subsequent murders of people surrounding the Don. Big Casino was part of an annual show called 10 Downtown; started in 1967 by ten artists who opened their lofts to the public over three weekends. Each group picked the next ten for the following year. Big Casino was also shown a year later at the Nonson Gallery in Soho (1978).

 

Frankie Teardrop

1978. Video (color, sound). 10:25 min.

By Edit DeAk (American, born Hungary 1948), Paul Dougherty (American, born 1953), Walter Robinson (American, born 1950), Music by Suicide. As written for “Looking at Music” exhibition at MoMA NY in 2009, “this coarsely textured film-video hybrid combines superimposed projector manipulations and high-end video post-production. An insightful collaboration between videomaker Paul Dougherty and Art-Rite zine editors Walter Robinson and Edit DeAk, the work interprets a strident song by Suicide—with vocalist Alan Vega and Martin Rev on synthesizers and drum machines—about a poverty-stricken Vietnam vet pushed to the edge.”

Alan Suicide Vega (1938-2016), one of the pioneers of minimalist electronic rock as the co-founder with Martin Rev of the mythical band Suicide, was first and foremost a visual artist active on the New York scene since the end of the 1960s. A co-founder of MUSEUM - Project of Living Artists, one of the first alternative artist-run spaces in NY open 24/7 dedicated to all forms of art, music and cinema, it quickly became a showcase for groups such as the New York Dolls, Television and Blondie. In this saturated universe, Alan Vega found an ideal environment for his work, and pursued his musical and artistic careers in parallel. Alan Vega studied with Ad Reinhardt and Kurt Seligmann at Brooklyn College at the turn of the 50s, and initially focusing on painting. Toward the end of the 1960s, his interests shifted toward light as he created his first “Light pieces”— assemblages of diverse objects including bulbs, wires, televisions and neon tubes of every shape and colour. A major retrospective of his work took place at the Museum of Contemporary Art of Lyon in 2009. Anti-aesthetic, anti-formal, the equivalent of an “un-made in the USA” Arte Povera, Alan Vega's work embraced the contemporary reality in which we are all immersed.

With infinite mercy to Liz Lamere, Paul Smith, Cool P / Paul Liebegott, Walter Robinson, and Paul Dougherty.

SAVE THE DATE

Screening and discussion: September 20, 2016 6:30 p.m. 7 p.m. screening projection.

Looped screening: 21.09 — 02.10.2016

More information: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
022 329 18 42

Download the press-release

Chasse-spleen

Alan Vega

Dream Baby Dream, un hommage à Alan Vega
Une proposition de Mathieu Copeland

21.09 — 02.10.16
Soirée de projection et discussion le mardi 20 septembre 2016, à 18h30, accueil et apéritif. Projection à 19 heures.
Cinema Dynamo, 4e étage du Centre d'Art Contemporain. Entrée libre.
Projection en boucle du 21.09 au 02.10.2016

 

Suite au décès d’Alan Vega plus tôt cet été, le Centre d'Art Contemporain Genève a le plaisir de présenter un hommage à cet influent artiste avec une projection de films proposés par Mathieu Copeland au Cinéma Dynamo. Réalisés entre 1972 et 1978, ces films montrent une facette moins connue de cette personnalité sans concessions, en mettant en scène la période durant laquelle Alan Bermowitz – alors Alan Suicide, allait devenir Alan Vega.

 

Untitled

1972-2011. 14 minutes, 8mm transféré sur HD. Vidéo (couleur, son)

Ce film est composé de diverses séquences captées par Vega, en collaboration avec Mel Austin, alors qu'ils se rendaient de New York à l'ouverture de l'exposition d’Alan Suicide à la Galerie Marc à Washington en 1972. Un road trip incluant des courses hyppiques, une seance de tirs sur disques ainsi que les sculptures lumineuses d’Alan Vega et offrant ainsi une documentation rare sur cette exposition et son vernissage. Un film de 1972, avec une bande sonore unique, composée par Alan Vega en 2011.

 

Cinenema Warp

1972, 10 minutes environ, Super 8 transféré sur DVD, muet, couleur.

Un film de Cool P/Paul Liebegott. Avec: Joe Catuccio, Alan Suicide, Lynne Mayo. Une image d’un artiste devient réelle et tue ce dernier. Le titre s’inspire d’un essai sur le cinéma de Noman Mailer, où le cinéma est qualifié de «sin enema», Cinenema Warp ne fut projeté qu’à quelques reprises dans le loft de Soho de Joe Catuccio.

 

Big Casino

1977, 30 minutes environ, Super * transferé sur DVD, couleur, son (Chants bouddhistes tibétains et orchestre).

Un film de Cool P / Paul Liebegott. Acteurs principaux: Joe Catuccio (the Don, le Parrain), Donald Greenhaus (the Mask), Alan Suicide (le détective), Vernon Lake (Henchman). Avec également: Laurie Fader, Annie Flash Untrash, Ken Peake, Marty Suicide, Ronnie Tendler, Richard Wells, Diane Torr, Sandy Knies.

Un parrain de la mafia embauche un détective pour retrouver l’assassin de son père. Le film suit cette enquête et les meurtres dans l’entourage du parrain qui en découlent. Big Casino fut inclut dans un spectacle annuel intitulé 10 Downtown, lancé en 1967 par un groupe de dix artistes ayant pris l’initiative d’ouvrir leurs lofts au public sur trois week-ends. Chaque année, le groupe choisi décidait des dix artistes qui feraient de même l’année suivante. Big Casino fut également projeté l’année suivante à la Galerie Nonson à Soho (1978)

 

Frankie Teardrop

1978, 10 minutes 25 sec, vidéo (couleur, son).

Un film d’Edit DeAk, Paul Dougherty, Walter Robinson, Musique de Suicide. Dans le cadre de l’exposition Looking at Music au MoMA NY en 2009, ce film fut décrit ainsi: «ce film-vidéo hybride à la texture grossière combine des manipulations de projecteur superposées et des vidéos de post-production haut de gamme. Issue d’une collaboration audacieuse entre le vidéaste Paul Dougherty avec les éditeurs du magazine Art-Rite, Walter Robinson et Edit Deak, cette œuvre interprète une chanson stridente du groupe Suicide – Alan Vega au chant et Martin Rev aux synthétiseurs accompagnés de boîtes à rythme – racontant l’histoire d’un vétéran du Vietnam frappé par la pauvreté et marginalisé.»

Alan Suicide Vega (1938-2016), l'un des pionniers du rock électronique minimaliste, cofondateur avec Martin Rev du groupe mythique Suicide, était d'abord et avant tout un artiste visuel actif sur la scène de New York dès la fin des années 1960. Il fut également cofondateur de MUSEUM - Projet de vie des artistes – l'un des premiers artist-run space alternatif à New York ouvert 24h24, 7j/7 et dédié à toutes les formes d'art, de musique et au cinéma – devenu rapidement une vitrine pour des groupes tels que les New York Dolls, Television et Blondie. Dans cet univers saturé, Alan Vega trouva un environnement idéal pour son oeuvre, et poursuivit simultanément ses carrières musicales et artistiques. Vega a étudié avec Ad Reinhardt et Kurt Seligmann au Brooklyn College à la fin des années 50, avec un premier intérêt pour la peinture. Vers la fin des années 1960, il s’intéresse à la lumière et créa ses premières «Light-pieces» – assemblages de divers objets, tels que des ampoules, des fils, des téléviseurs et des néons de diverses formes et couleurs. Une grande rétrospective de son travail a eu lieu au Musée d'Art Contemporain de Lyon en 2009. Anti-esthétique, anti-formelle, l'équivalent d'un «anti made in USA» Arte Povera, le travail d'Alan Vega embrasse la réalité contemporaine dans laquelle nous sommes tous plongés.

Infinite mercy à Liz Lamere, Paul Smith, Cool P/Paul Liebegott, Walter Robinson, et Paul Dougherty.

DATES A NE PAS MANQUER

Soirée de projection et discussion le mardi 20 septembre 2016, à 18h30, accueil et apéritif. Projection à 19 heures.

Projection en boucle du 21.09 au 02.10.2016

Pour plus d’informations: Cette adresse e-mail est protégée contre les robots spammeurs. Vous devez activer le JavaScript pour la visualiser.
022 329 18 42

Télécharger le communiqué de presse

Chasse-spleen