Archive



Alexandra Bachzetsis

AVALANCHE


Alexandra Bachzetsis
Dancing


The Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève is pleased to present Dancing by Alexandra Bachzetsis as part of the performance program AVALANCHE. The performance, in collaboration with the Visual Arts department of HEAD – Genève, [Inter]action option, will be presented two occasions on Sunday May 30:

18.00*
Dancing by Alexandra Bachzetsis
Reservation

19.00*
Dancing by Alexandra Bachzetsis
Reservation

*No late entry

Dancing – Geneva 2021
Dancing, originally conceived with the students of the Rietveld Akademie in Amsterdam in 2009, is a performance piece for 14 dancers in a white space. The piece begins with a hypnotic staccato sound loop as a music background for a sensual solo choreography. As the music changes into a dynamic dancey track, another performer appears in a distance and starts a completely different set of extravert and techno-like movements, while the first one continues the solo, uninterrupted. Various performers and groups enter the stage and leave again in a carefully planned order of appearance, sometimes together, sometimes apart. The choreography unveils as an ever-changing, rhythmic accumulation of sequences of individual and collective choreography, including overlaps, delays, movements staged in reverse, or repeated with changing speed, multiplications and other structural complications, often reminiscent of cinematic montage techniques. Composed as a riddle, which orchestrates fourteen individual parts into one, to then break them apart again and again, “Dancing” is a powerful mix of ecstatic dance and deadpan self-control of performers. The piece explores the subjective, individual body languages as material that can be appropriated, used and passed on by others. The body of each performer is celebrated as a carrier of specific corporeal experience that can be unraveled, shared and further employed, in a similar way like other forms of knowledge. “Dancing” is an embodied, fluid, collective intelligence—a different one to the one commonly associated with capacity of any individual human mind.

–  Text by Adam Szymczyk

Credits :
Staging and interpretation of Dancing – Amsterdam 2009
A work choreographed by Alexandra Bachzetsis and performed by students of the Gerrit Rietveld Academie in Amsterdam.

Concept and choreography: Alexandra Bachzetsis

Performance and Interpretation: Julia Botelho, Emi Curty, Plume Ducret, Samuelle Etienne, Jean-Marie Fahy, Zoé Gronchi, Matthieu La-Brossard, Madeline Marone, Alice Oechslin, Zeltia Robin, Alexandra Salem, Gabriel Shields-Hanau, Antoine Weil

Music: Lies Vanborm

Management: Franziska Schmidt & Regula Schelling

Co-Produced by: HEAD – Genève & Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève

Cover image: Dancing – Geneva 2021 with students from HEAD – Genève, Visual Arts department, [Inter]action option, video still. Credits: Sophie Dascal, Maya Corboud, Léon Yersin  © HEAD – Genève, Alexandra Bachzetsis
Visit the 5th floor

Visit the 5th floor
The virtual exhibition space of the Centre

Visit the 5th floor
The virtual exhibition space of the Centre

Your Cart

Archive

Alexandra Bachzetsis

AVALANCHE


Alexandra Bachzetsis
Dancing


Le Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève est heureux de présenter Dancing d’Alexandra Bachzetsis dans le cadre du programme de performances AVALANCHE. Cette performance, en collaboration avec le département Arts Visuels de la HEAD – Genève, option [Inter]action, sera présentée à deux occasions le dimanche 30 mai :

18.00*
Dancing by Alexandra Bachzetsis
Réserver

19.00*
Dancing by Alexandra Bachzetsis
Réserver

*Pas d’entrée après le début de la performance.

Dancing – Genève 2021
Dancing initialement conçue avec les étudiants de la Rietveld Akademie d’Amsterdam en 2009, est une pièce performative pour 14 danseurs dans un espace blanc. La pièce commence avec une boucle sonore staccato hypnotique comme fond musical pour une chorégraphie solo sensuelle. Lorsque la musique se transforme en une piste de danse dynamique, un autre interprète apparaît au loin et commence un ensemble complètement différent de mouvements extravertis et techno, tandis que le premier continue le solo, sans interruption. Divers artistes et groupes entrent sur scène et en sortent dans un ordre d’apparition soigneusement planifié, parfois ensemble, parfois séparément. La chorégraphie se dévoile comme une accumulation rythmique, toujours changeante, de séquences de chorégraphie individuelle et collective, comprenant des chevauchements, des retards, des mouvements mis en scène à l’envers, ou répétés avec une vitesse changeante, des multiplications et d’autres complications structurelles, rappelant souvent les techniques de montage cinématographique. Composée comme une énigme, qui orchestre quatorze parties individuelles en une seule, pour ensuite les briser encore et encore, Dancing est un puissant mélange de danse extatique et d’autocontrôle impassible des interprètes. La pièce explore les langages corporels subjectifs et individuels en tant que matériau pouvant être approprié, utilisé et transmis par d’autres. Le corps de chaque interprète est célébré comme porteur d’une expérience corporelle spécifique qui peut être démêlée, partagée et employée, de la même manière que d’autres formes de connaissances. La « danse » est une intelligence collective, fluide et incarnée, différente de celle que l’on associe généralement à la capacité de tout esprit humain individuel.

– Texte par Adam Szymczyk

 

Crédits :
Mise en scène et interprétation de Dancing – Amsterdam 2009
Une œuvre chorégraphiée par Alexandra Bachzetsis et interprétée par des étudiants de la Gerrit Rietveld Academie d’Amsterdam.

Concept et chorégraphie : Alexandra Bachzetsis

Performance et interprétation : Louise Bonpaix, Julia Botelho, Emi Curty, Plume Ducret, Samuelle Etienne, Jean-Marie Fahy, Zoé Gronchi, Matthieu La-Brossard, Alice Oechslin, Zeltia Robin, Alexandra Salem, Gabriel Shields-Hanau, Antoine Weil

Musique : Lies Vanborm

Management : Franziska Schmidt & Regula Schelling

Co-Produit par : HEAD – Genève & Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève

Cover image: Dancing – Geneva 2021 avec des étudiants de la HEAD – Genève,  département Arts Visuels, [Inter]action option, video still. Crédits: Sophie Dascal, Maya Corboud, Léon Yersin  © HEAD – Genève, Alexandra Bachzetsis
Visiter le 5e étage

Visiter le 5e étage
L’espace d’exposition virtuel du Centre

Visiter le 5e étage
L’espace d’exposition virtuel du Centre

Votre panier