Archive



Jon Rafman

Jon Rafman
Recent videos


The Centre d’Art contemporain Genève is pleased to welcome Jon Rafman, one of the leading artists of the digital age, to present four of his recent films. His unscrupulous and disturbing works explore the social and existential impact of the web, its platforms and the cryptic productions of some of its communities.

Still Life (Betamale) (2013)
Still Life (Betamale) assembles an unsettling parade of still images, photos, and videos that form a kind of collective crie-de-cœur of online subcultures. As pixelated fantasies consummate erotic and violent impulses, we also observe the mess and dysfunction that virtual gratification leaves in its wake. Squalid gaming setups resemble hospital beds thrust into landfills and trash obscures the symbols on grimy keyboards. These grim images frame a parade of frenzied images and strange performances: Furries sway, strut, vacuum in Spandex, and bounce comically on fitness balls. A desperate furry slowly sinks into a pit of mud, straining mutely towards the viewer. Are we observing mindless amusements, refined depravity, or new forms of prayer? “The images captivate you,” a voice addresses us. “You can still see every detail clearly, but can’t grasp the meaning. Our fascination aligns with that of the strange figures onscreen, the separation between spectator and spectacle breaks down. Have we also lost control of the border between reality and dream, noise and meaning?

You, The World and I (2010)
When Orpheus’ beloved Eurydice dies, he cajoles his way into the underworld with his musical charms and his lyre. Wanting her but not her shade, he cannot forbear looking back to physically see her and so loses her forever. In this modern day Orphean tale, an anonymous narrator also desperately searches for a lost love. Rather than the charms of the lyre, contemporary technological tools, Google Street View and Google Earth, beckon as the pathway for our narrator to regain memories and recapture traces of his lost love.

Poor Magic (2017)
Jon Rafman’s Poor Magic (2017) is a vision of a post-human dystopia featuring animated 3-D bodies continuously tortured in abstract digital space. The video presents the viewer with a haunting programme of repeating motifs: a blue featureless avatar, a view from a colonoscope, and ranks of identical figures crashing and toppling over each other, made with the help of crowd-simulation software. While a poetic lament, Poor Magic addresses the fragmented consciousness of a post-physical existence. The film presents a terrifying image of a future where all humanity is uploaded to a virtual purgatory and endlessly abused. Or perhaps it is also a brutal representation of the present moment and the effect that technology has on our flesh and psyche.

Dream Journal 2016-2019 (2019)
Rafman’s latest single-channel video, Dream Journal 2016-2019 (2019), explores the effects of technology and information overload on the contemporary psyche. Set in a virtual tech-noir urban space populated by strange hybrids of non-humans and augmented people, part of the expansive, fractured narrative focuses on the continued adventures of Xanax Girl and her search for her companion – a hybrid dog/seal with the head of a boy – who has been abducted. The film, which arose from the artist’s daily practice of animating his dreams using hobbyist 3D software, weaves together deep-web imagery with hardboiled detective story tropes and repressed libidinal fantasies to create a nightmarish vision of an internet addict’s unconscious.

Jon Rafman was born in 1981 in Montreal, Canada. He studied Philosophy and Literature at McGill University in Montreal and received an MFA from the School of the Art Institute of Chicago. His work explores the impact of technology on contemporary consciousness, incorporating the rich vocabulary of virtual worlds to create poetic narratives that critically engage with the present.
Rafman’s recent solo exhibitions include The Mental Traveller, Fondazione Modena Arti Visive (2018), Dream Journal 16’ – 17’, Sprueth Magers Berlin (2017), I Have Ten Thousand Compound Eyes and Each is Named Suffering, Stedelijk Museum, Amsterdam (2016), Westfälischer Kunstverein, Munster (2016), Musée d’art Contemporain de Montréal (2015), and The Zabludowicz Collection, London (2015). His works have been featured in prominent international group exhibitions, including the 58th Venice Biennale (2019),  Leonard Cohen: A Crack in Everything, Musée d’Art Contemporain de Montréal (2017), K11 Art Shanghai (2017), Suspended Animation, Les Abattoirs, Toulouse (2017), Sharjah Biennial (2017), Berlin Biennial 9 (2016), Manifesta Biennial for European Art 11 (2016), The Future of Memory, Kunsthalle Wien (2015), Speculations on Anonymous Materials, Fridericianum, Kassel (2015), and Biennale de Lyon (2015).

Visit the 5th floor

Visit the 5th floor
The virtual exhibition space of the Centre

Visit the 5th floor
The virtual exhibition space of the Centre

Your Cart

Archive

Jon Rafman

Jon Rafman
Vidéos récentes


Le Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève est heureux d’accueillir Jon Rafman, l’un des artistes phares de l’ère numérique pour présenter quatre de ses récents films. Ses œuvres radicales et dérangeantes explorent l’impact social et existentiel du web, de ses plateformes et des productions cryptiques de certaines de ses communautés.

Still Life (Betamale) (2013)
Still Life (Betamale) nous plonge dans les profondeurs des obsessions et transgressions d’internet. Le flux des images fixes, des photos et extraits vidéos du film dresse un pêle-mêle de la sous-culture digitale. Il nous fait pénétrer dans des antres abjectes de gamer, qui s’installent dans ce qui pourrait ressembler à des lits médicalisés trônant au milieu de véritables décharges, où les immondices vont jusqu’à envahir les interstices des claviers. À ces images sordides succèdent une cascade frénétique d’images et de scènes insolites : des personnes grimées en furry chancèlent, s’exhibent en Spandex ou rebondissent drôlement sur des balles de fitness. Le personnage désespéré du furry Swampy T.Fox, sombre lentement dans une marre de boue en tendant silencieusement ses bras aux spectateurs. Sommes-nous face à des distractions stupides, des scènes de débauche raffinées ou de nouvelles formes de prières ?

You, The World and I (2010)
Quand Eurydice, la bien-aimée d’Orphée, mourut, il recourut aux charmes de sa lyre enchanteresse pour la ramener du royaume des ténèbres. Hadès l’autorise alors à la seule condition qu’il ne la regarde pas sur le chemin du retour. Ne pouvant résister à regarder sa belle, Eurydice la perd à jamais. Dans You, The World and I, conte orphéen transposé aux temps modernes, un narrateur anonyme cherche aussi désespérément un amour perdu. Plutôt que les charmes de la lyre, les outils technologiques contemporains, tels que Google Street View et Google Earth lui permettent de faire remonter ses souvenirs et de suivre les traces de son amour perdu.

Poor Magic (2017)
Poor Magic livre une vision dystopique post-humaine où des corps en 3D animés subissent de multiples tortures dans un environnement numérique abstrait. La vidéo présente une succession de motifs répétitifs : un avatar bleu et lisse, les images d’une coloscopie ou encore celles, réalisées à l’aide de logiciels de simulation de foule, de silhouettes alignées qui s’écrasent et tombent les unes sur les autres. Bien que lamentation poétique, Poor Magic traite de la conscience fragmentée d’une existence post-physique. Le film dresse le terrifiant portrait d’un avenir où toute l’humanité errerait dans un purgatoire virtuel et serait maltraitée sans cesse. Ou s’agit-il plutôt d’une représentation violente du présent et des effets de la technologie sur nos corps et esprits ?

Dream Journal 2016-2019 (2019)
La dernière vidéo monocanale de Rafman, Dream Journal 2016-2019, présente une dystopie futuriste sous forme d’animation surréaliste. Le film se situe dans un environnement urbain tech-noir, peuplé d’hybrides étranges de non-humains et de personnes augmentées. Le récit retrace notamment les péripéties de Xanax Girl dans la quête de son compagnon disparu, un chien/phoque hybride à tête de garçon. Ces images émanent tant de rêves lucides que des exercices d’écriture automatique réalisés par l’artiste. Rafman brouille ainsi une trame narrative qui aurait pu sembler familière.

Jon Rafman est né en 1981 à Montréal, Canada. Il a étudié la philosophie et la littérature à l’Université McGill de Montréal et a obtenu une maîtrise en arts-visuels à la School of the Art Institute of Chicago. Ses expositions personnelles récentes comprennent The Mental Traveller, Fondazione Modena Arti Visive (2018), Dream Journal 16′ – 17′, Sprueth Magers Berlin (2017), I Have Ten Thousand Compound Eyes and Each is Named Suffering, Stedelijk Museum, Amsterdam (2016), Westfälischer Kunstverein, Munster (2016), Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal (2015), The Zabludowicz Collection, London (2015). Ses œuvres ont été présentées dans des expositions collectives internationales importantes, dont la 58e Biennale de Venise (2019), Leonard Cohen : A Crack in Everything, Musée d’Art Contemporain de Montréal (2017), K11 Art Shanghai (2017), Suspended Animation, Les Abattoirs, Toulouse (2017), Sharjah Biennial (2017), Berlin Biennial 9 (2016), Manifesta Biennial for European Art 11 (2016), The Future of Memory, Kunsthalle Wien (2015), Speculations on Anonymous Materials, Fridericianum, Kassel (2015), and Biennale de Lyon (2015).

Visiter le 5e étage

Visiter le 5e étage
L’espace d’exposition virtuel du Centre

Visiter le 5e étage
L’espace d’exposition virtuel du Centre

Votre panier