Archive



Will Benedict

Will Benedict
Degrees of Disgust


The Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève is pleased to present the world premiere of Degrees of Disgust (2019), Will Benedict’s latest video. Co-produced by the Centre and Unemployed Magazine, this film will be screened alongside two other recent productions, Enemy Ladder (2017) and I AM A PROBLEM (2016).

For the past few years Benedict has made videos which depict digital worlds populated by aliens on talk shows, gluttonous beds, and talking dolphins. Through a near religious commitment to television, he subverts the conventions of popular infotainment genres such as music videos, YouTube tutorials, cooking shows, advertising, and talk shows. In this way, he makes us feel what it’s like to live in an infinitely malleable realm, in other words, in the present.

Degrees of Disgust follows a dominatrix Uber Eats driver as she considers the political forces and historical events that brought her to this point. The voiceover taken from Jia Tolentino’s book Trick Mirror, confronts our culture’s endless drive towards ‘self-optimisation’ and the position that women find themselves in when trying to organize their lives around practices they find ridiculous and possibly even indefensible.

In Enemy Ladder, a thunder storm rages outside as a woman sits in the safety of her home reading a book containing YouTube dog videos and surrounded by a police SWAT team. The video was originally produced as a music video for the seminal noise band Wolf Eyes.

In I AM A PROBLEM, another music video for the band Wolf Eyes, an alien on Charlie Rose discusses issues surrounding assimilation while drawing parallels to Europe’s so called migrant crisis. The video was included in the 9th Berlin Biennale for Contemporary Art.

Will Benedict (B. 1978, Los Angeles) lives and works in Paris. The artist’s upcoming and recent exhibitions include the Biennale de l’Image en Mouvement 2020, Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève, iwillmedievalfutureyou1, Art Sonje Center, Seoul (2019), A Womb with a View, dépendance, Brussels (2019), I AM A PROBLEM, MMK, Frankfurt am Main (2018), New Video and Painting, Balice Hertling, Paris (2018), Recent Video, Overduin & Co., Los Angeles (2018), Fiction is a Terrible Enemy, Fondazione Giuliani, Rome (2017), Law and Order, Simon Lee Gallery, Hong Kong (2016) and Corruption Feeds, Bergen Kunsthall (2014).

Cover image: Photo by Reto Schmid
Visit the 5th floor

Visit the 5th floor
The virtual exhibition space of the Centre

Visit the 5th floor
The virtual exhibition space of the Centre

Your Cart

Archive

Will Benedict

Will Benedict
Degrees of Disgust


Le Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève est heureux de présenter en première mondiale Degrees of Disgust (2019), la dernière vidéo de Will Benedict. Coproduit par le Centre et Unemployed Magazine, ce film sera projeté aux côtés de deux autres de ses productions récentes, Enemy Ladder (2017) et I AM A PROBLEM (2016).

Les œuvres vidéo que Will Benedict réalise depuis quelques années dépeignent des mondes numériques frénétiques, peuplés d’aliens dans des talk-shows, de lits gloutons et de dauphins qui parlent. Avec une dévotion quasi-religieuse envers les codes de la télévision, il subvertit les conventions de l’infotainment tels que les vidéoclips, les tutoriels YouTube, les émissions de cuisine, la publicité et les talk-shows. Ainsi, il tente de faire ressentir les vertiges d’un royaume infiniment malléable, celui qu’est le présent.

Degrees of Disgust suit une chauffeuse Uber Eats dominatrice dans sa réflexion sur les forces politiques et les événements historiques qui l’ont mené où elle en est. La voix off, tirée du livre Trick Mirror de Jia Tolentino, confronte le mouvement infini d’auto-optimisation de notre société et la situation des femmes qui essaient d’organiser leur vie autour de pratiques qu’elles trouvent ridicules, voire indéfendables.

Dans Enemy Ladder, un orage se déchaîne alors qu’une femme, à l’abri dans sa maison, lit un livre contenant des vidéos de chiens sur YouTube entourée d’une brigade du SWAT. La vidéo a été produite à l’origine comme un vidéoclip pour le groupe de noise Wolf Eyes.

Dans I AM A PROBLEM, un autre vidéoclip du groupe Wolf Eyes, une version extraterrestre de Charlie Rose, aborde des questions autour de l’assimilation tout en établissant des parallèles avec la soi-disant crise migratoire en Europe. Cette vidéo a été présentée lors de la 9e Biennale de Berlin.

Will Benedict (*1978, Los Angeles) vit et travaille à Paris. Les expositions récentes et à venir de l’artiste comprennent la Biennale de l’Image en Mouvement 2020, Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève, iwillmedievalfutureyou1, Art Sonje Center, Séoul (2019), A Womb with a View, dépendance, Bruxelles (2019), I AM A PROBLEM, MMK, Francfort am Main (2018), Nouvelle vidéo et peinture, Balice Hertling, Paris (2018), Recent Video, Overduin & Co, Los Angeles (2018), Fiction is a Terrible Enemy, Fondazione Giuliani, Rome (2017), Law and Order, Simon Lee Gallery, Hong Kong (2016) ou encore Corruption Feeds, Bergen Kunsthall (2014).

Image de couverture: Photo par Reto Schmid
Visiter le 5e étage

Visiter le 5e étage
L’espace d’exposition virtuel du Centre

Visiter le 5e étage
L’espace d’exposition virtuel du Centre

Votre panier