Archive

Aria Dean

Aria Dean
Production for a Circle


In Production for a Circle, written and directed by artist Aria Dean, two young, fashionable couples convene for dinner and everything loses its shape. The four characters–A, B, C, and D–pass through a crisis of subjecthood, causing them to lose sight of themselves, of each other, and of the boundaries between them. Without a distinct sense of self, the otherwise individual actors become interchangeable vessels. Altogether, they lose coherence and become a chorus with no object to speak of, instead delivering a text about being emptied out and filled back up with nothing.

Production for a Circle’s inquiry into subjectivity, meaning, and communication draws on Dean’s ongoing artistic research and practice into reconfigurations of the subject posed in discourses across art, philosophy, and critical theory; namely: the deterioration of the coherent, free-willing individual and an escape from what Deleuze and Guattari would call the “abstract machine of faciality.” Production for a Circle does not actively theorize another specific way of being, but drags the characters to the edge of the void wherein it might be found. We leave them wanting to be new.

Production for a Circle also marks a shift in Dean’s practice toward an exploration of the relationship between theater, film, and sculpture, and toward employing dramatic narrative for theoretical ends. The production is performed in-the-round on a minimalist set and captured by a 360 degree camera at its center.

Production for a Circle was originally written and performed as Get-Together: A Tragedy of Language, a table-read at the Swiss Institute in New York City in March 2018. It was later performed at the Hammer Museum during Dean’s Artist Residency in summer 2018. The film that results from Production for a Circle is the final instance of this larger, ongoing project.

Aria Dean (b. 1993) is an artist, writer and curator based in New York and Los Angeles. She is Assistant Curator of Net Art & Digital Culture at Rhizome. Dean’s writing has been featured in Texte zur Kunst, e-flux, Artforum, Art in America, Kaleidoscope and many other publications. Recent solo and two-person exhibitions include (meta)models or how i got my groove back, Chapter NY; Aria Dean, Albright Knox Gallery, Buffalo; lonesome crowded west, Chateau Shatto, Los Angeles; Gut Pinch, The Sunroom, Richmond; and White Ppl Think I’m Radical, Arcadia Missa, London. Dean has also participated in group exhibitions internationally at Het Hem, Amsterdam; ICA Philadelphia; Higher Pictures, NY; Bodega, NY; Schinkel Pavilion, Berlin. Her films have been screened at Julia Stoschek Collection, and International Film Festival Rotterdam (IFFR) 2019. She has lectured at various institutions such as Yale University, Cranbrook Art Museum, La Casa Encendida, Transmediale Festival, and Atlanta Contemporary.

Cast:
A —- Bingham Bryant
B —- Annie Hamilton
C —- Brendan Kirk
D —- Dasha Nekrasova

Visit the 5th floor

Visit the 5th floor
The virtual exhibition space of the Centre

Visit the 5th floor
The virtual exhibition space of the Centre

Your Cart

Archive



Aria Dean

Aria Dean
Production for a Circle


Dans Production for a Circle, écrit et dirigé par l’artiste Aria Dean, deux jeunes couples branchés se retrouvent pour un dîner et tout s’écroule. Les quatre personnages – A, B, C et D – traversent une crise de subjectivation qui les conduit à oublier qui ils sont, qui sont les autres et quelles sont les frontières qui les séparent. Privés de sentiment du soi et de leurs qualités individuelles, les acteur·trice·s deviennent des sortes de coquilles interchangeables. Ensemble, ils·elles perdent leur cohérence et forment un chœur sans objet de discours, qui transmet mécaniquement un texte sur le fait d’être vidé de sa substance et se voir à nouveau rempli de vide.

Production for a Circle, véritable plongée dans la subjectivité, le sens et la communication, s’inspire des recherches et de la pratique artistiques actuelles d’Aria Dean, qui s’intéressent aux reconfigurations du sujet telles qu’elles apparaissent dans l’art, la philosophie et la théorie critique : une dégradation de l’individu cohérent et doté de libre-arbitre et une fuite de ce que Deleuze et Guattari appelleraient « la machine abstraite de la visagéïté ». Production for a Circle ne conceptualise pas une autre manière d’être spécifique, mais entraîne ses personnages au bord du vide, où ils pourraient trouver une autre attitude. Ils sont laissés à leur désir de nouveauté.

Production for a Circle marque aussi une étape supplémentaire dans la pratique d’Aria Dean qui explore ici les rapports entre théâtre, film et sculpture et utilise le récit dramatique à des fins théoriques. La pièce reprend le dispositif des théâtres en rond dans un décor minimaliste et est filmée par une caméra 360° placée au centre.

À l’origine, Production for a Circle a été écrit et présenté sous le titre Get-Together: A Tragedy of Language, sous forme d’un « table-read[1] » au Swiss Institute de New York en mars 2018, puis joué au Hammer Museum pendant la résidence de l’artiste, au cours de l’été 2018. Le film issu de Production for a Circle est la dernière variante de ce vaste projet et toujours en cours.

Aria Dean (née en 1993) est une artiste, écrivaine et curatrice basée entre New York et Los Angeles. Elle est conservatrice adjointe Net Art & Digital Culture de Rhizome. Les écrits de Dean ont été publiés dans Texte zur Kunst, e-flux, Artforum, Art in America, Kaleidoscope et dans de nombreuses autres publications. (meta)models or how i got my groove back, Chapter NY; Aria Dean, Albright Knox Gallery, Buffalo; lonesome crowded west, Chateau Shatto, Los Angeles; Gut Pinch, The Sunroom, Richmond; et White Ppl Think I’m Radical, Arcadia Missa, Londres comptent parmi ses récentes expositions personnelles ou en duo. Dean a également pris part à des expositions de groupe à Het Hem, Amsterdam ; ICA Philadelphie ; Higher Pictures, NY ; Bodega, NY ; Schinkel Pavilion, Berlin. Ses films ont été projetés à la Julia Stoschek Collection et au Festival International du Film de Rotterdam (IFFR) 2019. Elle a donné des conférences dans diverses institutions telles que l’Université Yale, le Cranbrook Art Museum, La Casa Encendida, Transmediale Festival, et Atlanta Contemporary.

Distribution :
A – Bingham Bryant
B – Annie Hamilton
C – Stephen Gurewitz
D – Dasha Nekrasova

[1] Relecture d’un scénario avec les acteurs, la production et l’équipe artistique avant un tournage, étape clé d’un tournage spécialement pratiquée aux Etats-Unis
Image de couverture: photo par Emmanuel Olunkwa
Visiter le 5e étage

Visiter le 5e étage
L’espace d’exposition virtuel du Centre

Visiter le 5e étage
L’espace d’exposition virtuel du Centre

Votre panier