Archive

Gianfranco Baruchello

Gianfranco Baruchello
Psicoenciclopedia possibile


Psicoenciclopedia possibile is devised as though it were a volume of the Enciclopedia Italiana Treccani, but it isn’t” (G. Baruchello, 2020)

The Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève is pleased to present, for the first time outside Italy, Gianfranco Baruchello’s Psicoenciclopedia possibile.

Gianfranco Baruchello (1924, Italy) is an artist, filmmaker and writer who has experimented with the transversality of artistic languages since the late 1950s. He has in particular created short-circuits between apparently irreconcilable domains and fields like art and agriculture, or the regulations of governance of a fictitious company and economics. His painting contends with uncertainty and uses white as a field of the possible. In these spaces, he imagines the coexistence of essences of images and words, which he organises in all directions. Thus, writing is present in one way or another in all his practice and constitutes the very essence of the work presented at the Project Space (4th floor).

The Psicoenciclopedia possibile is an impressive and complex project that Baruchello began in 2017 and finished in 2020. It is a sort of deconstruction of the encyclopaedia system presented in the form of an imposing book of 816 pages. Commissioned and published by the Istituto dell’Enciclopedia Italiana, founded by Giovanni Treccani, the book in fact subverts the structure used by an encyclopaedia and creates a complex system that links, through unexpected convergences, 1200 entries (in the first section) and 200 plates (in the second). The entries are taken from texts (some published, some not), notes and transcriptions of Baruchello’s dreams, while the images are the result of a long process of selection and editing from various sources.
Baruchello thus puts to the test, this time in a book, the systems of organization (causes, effects, narrative sequences, links) of seeing and knowing. Like in all his other works, from painting to objects and even installations, the encyclopedia also dismantles the most solid and anchored links to venture into the uncertain and the possible, into the “pleasure of thinking”, by means of an ars combinatoria that does not exclude the different or insignificant. Overall, the artist analyses the 21st century, entering into the multiplicity of possible viewpoints and pointing up the fact that, in the end, knowledge is something subjective and always open to interpretation.

In parallel, the Cinema Dynamo is showing a series of films made by Baruchello between 1968 and 2008 on the subject of processes of classification, archiving and inventory, the editing of which has similarities with the procedure used in the Psicoenciclopedia.

Lastly, as an adjunct to the exhibition, the Genevan artist Ambroise Tièche — who is also the author of an encyclopaedic work, to which he has devoted more than ten years: the Dictionnaire encyclopédique lacunaire — has organised a programme of performances and readings that “will give a voice” to the Psicoenciclopedia, with the participation of Cléa Chopard, Alix Debraine, Gilles Furtwängler, Federico Nicolao and Leonardo Pellicanò.

The exhibition project has been conceived as an organic whole, embracing a catalogue, the exhibition at Project Space, the Cinema Dynamo film programme, and the readings and performances aimed at celebrating, in spite of its obvious and — perhaps — necessary incompleteness, this umpteenth colossal effort by this legendary Italian artist.

This exhibition is part of a cycle of presentations of the Psicoenciclopedia possible undertaken by the Fondazione Baruchello, which benefits from the support of the Italian Council (7th Edition, 2019), program to promote Italian contemporary art in the world by the Directorate-General for Contemporary Creativity of the Italian Ministry of Culture. After Geneva, Baruchello’s Encyclopaedia will be presented at the Bibliothèque Kandinsky – Centre Georges Pompidou in Paris (25 September–24 October) and at CIMA in New York (6–12 December).

A first edition of the Psiconeciclopedia possibile will be published in French for the occasion. It will include an extract translated from the entries as well as essays that offer a French-speaking public a fundamental introduction to Gianfranco Baruchello’s colossal project. A pocket edition of the Psiconeciclopedia possibile will also be published by the Istituto dell’Enciclopedia Italiana founded by Giovanni Treccani to mark this cycle of presentations and exhibitions. These two editions will both be available at the Centre’s Bookshop.

This exhibition will is curated by Andrea Bellini and Carla Subrizi, with the collaboration of Ambroise Tièche.

Cover image: Psicoenciclopedia possible de Gianfranco Baruchello.

With the support of

Sponsors

Sponsors

Sponsors

Sponsors

Sponsors

Visit the 5th floor

Visit the 5th floor
The virtual exhibition space of the Centre

Visit the 5th floor
The virtual exhibition space of the Centre

Your Cart

Archive

Gianfranco Baruchello

Gianfranco Baruchello
Psicoenciclopedia possibile


« La Psicoenciclopedia possibile est construite comme si c’était un volume de l’Enciclopedia Italiana Treccani, mais elle ne l’est pas. » de G. Baruchello, 2020

Le Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève est heureux de présenter, pour la première fois au-delà des frontières italiennes, la Psicoenciclopedia possibile de Gianfranco Baruchello.

Gianfranco Baruchello (1924, Italie) est un artiste, cinéaste et écrivain, qui expérimente depuis la fin des années cinquante la transversalité des langages artistiques. Il produit notamment des courts-circuits entre des domaines et des territoires apparemment inconciliables tels que l’art et l’agriculture, ou encore le régime d’une société fictive et l’économie. Sa peinture appréhende l’incertain et utilise le blanc comme un champ du possible. Dans ces espaces, il imagine la coexistence de noyaux d’images et de mots, agencés dans toutes les directions. Ainsi l’écriture est présente d’une certaine manière dans l’ensemble de sa pratique et constitue l’essence même de l’œuvre présentée au Project Space (4e étage).

La Psicoenciclopedia possibile, projet imposant et complexe amorcé par Baruchello en 2017 et conclu en 2020, propose une sorte de déconstruction du système de l’encyclopédie sous la forme d’un imposant ouvrage de 816 pages. Commissionné et publié par l’Istituto dell’Enciclopedia Italiana fondata da Giovanni Treccani, le volume subvertit en réalité la structure d’une encyclopédie et réalise un système complexe qui connecte, à travers des confluences inattendues, 1200 entrées (dans la première partie du volume) et 200 planches d’images (dans la deuxième partie). Les entrées sont tirées d’écrits, publiés ou inédits, de notes et de transcriptions de rêves de l’artiste, tandis que les images sont le résultat d’un long travail de sélection et de montage à partir de sources diverses.
Baruchello met donc à l’épreuve, cette fois dans un livre, les systèmes d’organisation (causes, effets, séquences narratives, liens) du voir et du savoir. Comme dans tous ses autres travaux, de la peinture à l’objet, ou encore l’installation, l’encyclopédie aussi démantèle les liens le plus sûrs et les plus ancrés pour s’aventurer dans l’incertain, dans le possible, dans le « plaisir de penser », à travers une ars combinatoria qui n’exclut pas le différent ou l’insignifiant. Plus globalement, l’artiste interroge le XXIe siècle, s’introduisant dans la pluralité des points de vue possibles et mettant en évidence le fait que le savoir est finalement quelque chose de subjectif, toujours ouvert à interprétation.

En parallèle, le Cinema Dynamo accueille un programme de films réalisés par Baruchello entre 1968 et 2008, portant sur les processus de classification, d’archivage et d’inventaire, et dont le montage rappelle la procédure utilisée dans la Psicoenciclopedia.

Enfin, en complément de l’exposition, l’artiste genevois Ambroise Tièche – qui est également l’auteur d’un ouvrage encyclopédique auquel il se consacre depuis plus de dix ans : le Dictionnaire encyclopédique lacunaire – a organisé un programme de performances et de lectures qui « donneront une voix » à la Psicoenciclopedia, avec la participation de Cléa Chopard, Alix Debraine, Gilles Furtwängler, Federico Nicolao et Leonardo Pellicanò.

Ce projet d’exposition est conçu comme un ensemble organique, comprenant à la fois un catalogue, l’exposition au Project Space, le programme du Cinema Dynamo ainsi que les lectures et les performances visant à célébrer, malgré son incomplétude évidente – et, peut-être, nécessaire –, cet énième effort titanesque d’un artiste italien légendaire.

Cette exposition s’inscrit dans un cycle de présentations de la Psicoenciclopedia possibile initiées par la Fondazione Baruchello, bénéficiant du soutien de l’Italian Council (7ème  édition, 2019) visant à promouvoir l’art contemporain italien dans le monde par la Direction générale de la créativité contemporaine du Ministère italien du patrimoine. Après Genève, l’Encyclopédie de Baruchello sera présentée à la Bibliothèque Kandinsky – Centre Georges Pompidou à Paris (25 septembre – 24 octobre) et au CIMA à New York (6 décembre – 12 décembre).

Une première édition en français dédiée à la Psicoenciclopedia possibile est publiée à cette occasion. Elle comprend un extrait traduit des entrées ainsi que des essais offrant au public francophone une introduction essentielle à l’œuvre colossale entreprise par Gianfranco Baruchello. Une édition de poche de la Psicoenciclopedia possibile, sera également publiée par l’Istituto dell’Enciclopedia Italiana fondata da Giovanni Treccani à l’occasion de ce cycle de présentations et d’expositions. Ces deux éditions seront disponibles au Bookshop du Centre.

Une édition de poche de la Psicoenciclopedia possibile, sera publiée par l’Istituto dell’Enciclopedia Italiana fondata da Giovanni Treccani à l’occasion de ce cycle de présentations et d’expositions.

Cette exposition est organisée sous la direction artistique d’Andrea Bellini et Carla Subrizi avec la collaboration d’Ambroise Tièche.

Image de couverture : Psicoenciclopedia possibile de Gianfranco Baruchello.

Avec le soutien de

Sponsors

Sponsors

Sponsors

Sponsors

Sponsors

Visiter le 5e étage

Visiter le 5e étage
L’espace d’exposition virtuel du Centre

Visiter le 5e étage
L’espace d’exposition virtuel du Centre

Votre panier