Archive

Lemaniana

CALL FOR PROJECTS
LEMANIANA
Reflections on other scenes


Survey of the current artistic production in the Léman Region


A proposal by Andrea Bellini, with the participation of Stéphanie Moisdon, Jill Gasparina and Mohamed Almusibli.

The Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève is issuing a call for projects to all artists who either reside or originated in the greater Léman basin, regardless of their age, training, development or background, with a view to mounting an exhibition titled Lemaniana in February 2021, which will offer an unprecedented survey of the contemporary local art.

Lemaniana is based on a very loose interpretation of the territory: it covers artists born in the Léman basin, as well as those who were born elsewhere but either live in the region or are linked to it either permanently or temporarily.

The Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève wishes to transcend the common image of the art scene in the region, highlighting also those who, for different reasons, live and work on the margins of the system. The aim of this project is to go out and find them, and to gaze with interest – though without any predefined ideas – at the art produced today in the cross-border territory of the Léman basin. To achieve this, the Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève does not intend to follow the standard routine of sending out invitations to selected artists, preferring to proceed without fixed rules or preset notions.

A curatorial committee of Andrea Bellini, Stéphanie Moisdon, Jill Gasparina and Mohamed Almusibli will select the most striking works from the applications received with the aim of creating a surprising and organic group exhibition that will present unexpected works that until today have been rarely available. They will be selected and presented as they are and will not be able to be (re)produced for the occasion.

A coherent exhibition design will then be created that will reflect the fact that there is not a single local scene but a number of different communities with different commitments and characteristics.

Artists and collectives wishing to take part in the project are invited to follow the procedure and to send their application file to lemaniana@centre.ch before 2 December 2020.

Visit the 5th floor

Visit the 5th floor
The virtual exhibition space of the Centre

Visit the 5th floor
The virtual exhibition space of the Centre

Your Cart

Archive

Lemaniana

APPEL À PROJETS

LEMANIANA

Reflets d’autres scènes


Enquête sur la production artistique actuelle en région lémanique


Une proposition d’Andrea Bellini, avec la collaboration de Stéphanie Moisdon, Jill Gasparina et Mohamed Almusibli

 

Le Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève lance un appel à projets à tou·te·s les artistes domicilié·e·s ou issu·e·s du grand bassin lémanique – quels que soient leur âge, leur formation, leur parcours et leur curriculum – en vue d’une exposition, programmée pour février 2021 et intitulée Lemaniana, qui porte un regard inédit sur la production artistique contemporaine locale.

Lemaniana s’appuie sur une conception ouverte du territoire – elle rassemble des artistes né·e·s dans le bassin lémanique ou à l’étranger, vivant dans la région ou au-delà, lié·e·s provisoirement ou durablement à ce territoire.

Le Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève souhaite aller au-delà de l’image commune de la scène de cette région, en prêtant aussi attention à celles et ceux qui, pour différentes raisons, vivent et travaillent en marge du système. Ce projet propose d’aller à leur rencontre et de regarder avec curiosité et sans stratégie prédéfinie l’art produit aujourd’hui sur le territoire transfrontalier du bassin lémanique. Pour ce faire, le Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève n’a pas l’intention de suivre le protocole classique d’invitations directes, il souhaite au contraire se libérer d’outils prédéterminés et de ses connaissances a priori.

Une commission curatoriale – composée d’Andrea Bellini, Stéphanie Moisdon, Jill Gasparina et Mohamed Almusibli – sélectionnera sur dossier les œuvres des figures les plus marquantes, dans le but de concevoir une exposition collective organique surprenante et de révéler des œuvres inattendues, peu accessibles jusqu’à aujourd’hui. Ces dernières seront sélectionnées et présentées telles qu’elles existent et ne pourront être (re)produites pour l’occasion.

Il s’agit ainsi de construire un parcours d’exposition cohérent, afin de rappeler qu’il n’existe pas une scène locale mais bien quantité de communautés, d’engagements et de singularités.

Les artistes et collectifs souhaitant participer à ce projet sont invité·e·s à prendre connaissance de la procédure et à envoyer leur dossier à l’adresse lemaniana@centre.ch d’ici au 2 décembre 2020.

Visiter le 5e étage

Visiter le 5e étage
L’espace d’exposition virtuel du Centre

Visiter le 5e étage
L’espace d’exposition virtuel du Centre

Votre panier