Archive



Lisetta Carmi Genova Porto

Lisetta Carmi
Genova Porto


Lisetta Carmi was born in 1924 into a middle-class Jewish family in Genoa. She initially studied music, and became a fairly successful concert pianist. But in 1960, she turned her attention to photography. Although her career in this field lasted only eighteen years, it yielded a major body of work.

Carmi saw photography as an important tool of political activism and anthropological investigation. Her most important photo series include L’Italsider (1962), which shows the interiors and exteriors of steel mills; Genova, il porto (1964), focused on the theme of labor; and Erotismo e autoritarismo a Staglieno (1966), which explores a historic cemetery in the Staglieno district of Genoa. She also took twelve famous portraits of Ezra Pound, as well as portraying subjects such as Lucio Fontana, Leonardo Sciascia, Edoardo Sanguineti, Alberto Arbasino, Sylvano Bussotti, and Jacques Lacan.

The Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève is pleased to present an exhibition in two parts highlighting series of works, which testify to the artist’s sensitivity to the workers’ world and their cause. Presented through May and June, the series I Travestiti is one of the first documentations of the italian LGBTIQ community. The second part of the exhibition, presented from June 21 to August 25, will focus on the series Genova, il porto and L’Italsider.

The series Genova, il porto was shot in 1964 in the port of Genoa. It constitutes one of the most significant post-war testimonies on the theme of labor, revealing the contrast between the city center and its harbor. The images illustrate the strong social and cultural identity of Genoa in the 1960 and 1970s.

The intense activity of the port is documented by a series of landscape shots. The artist focuses on the difficult situation of dockworkers, forced to work in inhuman conditions, from unloading toxic products without any protection to the harsh handling operations of goods.

Carmi had pretended to be the cousin of one them in order to access the site and document it: “I wanted to denounce their terrible working conditions. The Camalli (a term used to describe dockworkers) were carrying frozen carcasses of animals on refrigerated ships, going from a crushing heat to freezing temperatures. They wore rags to protect their bare feet and had very long work cycles, the port being active day and night.”

A few pictures of the workers of Italsider, one of the most important steel companies in Italy based in Genoa, complete the exhibition. This raw series of photographs will become the emblem of a new photographic language, a communication tool for trade unions.

Cover image: Lisetta Carmi, Genova il Porto, 1964. © Lisetta Carmi, courtesy Martini & Ronchetti
Visit the 5th floor

Visit the 5th floor
The virtual exhibition space of the Centre

Visit the 5th floor
The virtual exhibition space of the Centre

Your Cart

Archive

Lisetta Carmi Genova Porto

Lisetta Carmi
Genova Porto


Née à Gênes en 1924 dans une famille bourgeoise d’origine juive, Lisetta Carmi étudie d’abord la musique et s’engage avec un certain succès dans une carrière de concertiste. Elle décide finalement de se lancer dans la pratique de la photographie. Elle s’y consacrera quelque 18 années et produira un important corpus d’œuvres.

Lisetta Carmi conçoit cet art comme un important outil d’engagement politique et d’enquête anthropologique. Parmi ses reportages les plus marquants, nous retiendrons L’Italsider (1962), une série consacrée aux chantiers et aux aciéries, Genova, il porto (1964), un reportage sur le travail et Erotismo e autoritarismo a Staglieno (1966), sur le cimetière monumental du quartier génois de Staglieno. Citons encore les douze portraits célèbres du poète Ezra Pound, ainsi que ceux qu’elle a pris de Lucio Fontana, Leonardo Sciascia, Edoardo Sanguineti, Alberto Arbasino, Sylvano Bussotti et Jacques Lacan.

Le Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève est heureux de présenter une exposition en deux volets qui témoigne de la sensibilité de l’artiste envers le monde du travail. Présentée en mai et juin, la série I Travestiti est l’une des premières documentations de la communauté LGBTIQ italienne. Le second volet présenté du 21 juin au 25 août mettra en lumière les séries Genova, il porto et L’Italsider.

Les images de la série Genova, il porto, prises en 1964 dans le port de Gênes, constituent l’un des reportages les plus significatifs de l’après-guerre sur le thème du travail. Elles révèlent les profondes discordances entre la ville et son port et témoignent de la forte identité sociale et culturelle de celle-ci dans les années 1960 et 1970. L’intense activité du port est documentée par une série de plans du paysage portuaire. L’objectif de Carmi se focalise sur les dockers, contraints à travailler dans des conditions inhumaines, du déchargement de produits toxiques sans aucune protection aux rudes opérations de manutention des marchandises.

Carmi s’était faite passer pour la cousine de l’un d’eux afin d’accéder au site et le documenter : « Je voulais dénoncer leurs conditions de travail terribles. Les Camalli (terme gênois utilisé pour qualifier les dockers) montaient sur les navires frigorifiques les carcasses congelées des animaux, passant d’une chaleur écrasante aux températures négatives de ces cargos. Ils portaient des haillons pour protéger leurs pieds nus et effectuaient de longs cycles de travail, le port étant actif jour et nuit.  »

Quelques clichés des travailleurs de l’Italsider, l’une des plus importantes sociétés sidérurgiques d’Italie complètent cette exposition. Ces images crues deviendront des emblèmes d’un nouveau langage photographique seront utilisées par les syndicats pour défendre la cause ouvrière.

Image de couverture : Lisetta Carmi, Genova il Porto, 1964. © Lisetta Carmi, courtesy Martini & Ronchetti
Visiter le 5e étage

Visiter le 5e étage
L’espace d’exposition virtuel du Centre

Visiter le 5e étage
L’espace d’exposition virtuel du Centre

Votre panier