Archive



Lisetta Carmi

Lisetta Carmi
I Travestiti


Lisetta Carmi was born in 1924 into a middle-class Jewish family in Genoa. She initially studied music, and became a fairly successful concert pianist. But in 1960, she turned her attention to photography. Although her career in this field lasted only eighteen years, it yielded a major body of work.

Carmi saw photography as an important tool of political activism and anthropological investigation. Her most important photo series include L’Italsider (1962), which shows the interiors and exteriors of steel mills; Genova Porto (1964), focused on the theme of labor; and Erotismo e autoritarismo a Staglieno (1966), which explores a historic cemetery in the Staglieno district of Genoa. She also took twelve famous portraits of Ezra Pound, as well as portraying subjects such as Lucio Fontana, Leonardo Sciascia, Edoardo Sanguineti, Alberto Arbasino, Sylvano Bussotti, and Jacques Lacan.

The Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève is pleased to present an exhibition in two parts (from May 3 to June 16, and from June 20 to August 25) highlighting two series of works—I Travestiti (1965) and Genova Porto—which testify to the artist’s sensitivity to the workers’ world and their cause.

One of her most controversial series, from which a large selection of photos will be presented in the first part of the exhibition, was I Travestiti, shot in Genoa in the late 1960s and early 1970s. It is an intimate, deeply sensitive meditation on gender identity. Due to the honesty of its gaze and empathy with its subjects, this photo essay—like her other series centered on work and on marginalized communities—has prompted comparisons with photographers such as Christer Strömholm and Nan Goldin.

As the artist wrote in 1972: “It is true that transvestites disguise themselves, but this is by necessity. It nevertheless takes courage to do what they do, and to face the often dramatic and violent consequences. Many of them have no alternative for employment: as men, they look too feminine, and as women, they run into the obstacle of being listed as male on their ID. They must deal with incredible loneliness, because society both seeks them out and isolates them, forcing them to live in what are basically ghettos (in Genoa, their neighborhood is actually the former Jewish ghetto); it is afraid of seeing itself reflected in them. It uses them, pays them, judges them, willfully ignoring the fact that they are human beings. But I think when we judge others we are almost always judging ourselves: what frightens us in others is something in ourselves. And we always react by insulting the part of ourselves that we reject” (Lisetta Carmi, quoted on the back cover of I Travestiti, Essedì Editrice: Rome, 1972).

Lisetta Carmi was the first to photograph the LGBTQ community in Italy. Gender identity was a taboo subject in Italian society, which at the time was deeply Catholic and highly conservative. But Carmi was bewitched and fascinated by this ostracized community. The photographer presents her subjects in a natural, friendly, familiar way that lets their humanity and inner beauty shine through, depicting prostitution from a new angle. Forming close friendships with the people she portrayed and following them around in their everyday lives, she managed to normalize the idea of a man putting on makeup in front of the mirror, donning a skirt and stockings, and becoming a woman.

Lisetta Carmi’s photographic investigation was also to some degree a path of introspection and personal discovery, linked to the experience of being a woman in a deeply sexist culture. As she herself wrote in regard to I Travestiti: “The trans community taught me to accept myself. When I was little, I would look at my brothers Eugenio and Marcello and long to be a boy like them. I knew I would never marry, and couldn’t accept the role that was expected of women. These transvestites helped me understand that we all have the right to decide who we are.”

Cover image: Lisetta Carmi, I travestiti, 1965-71. © Lisetta Carmi, courtesy Martini e Ronchetti, Genoa. Collection Rigo-Saitta. Reproduction: Annik Wetter
Visit the 5th floor

Visit the 5th floor
The virtual exhibition space of the Centre

Visit the 5th floor
The virtual exhibition space of the Centre

Your Cart

Archive



Lisetta Carmi

Lisetta Carmi
I Travestiti


Née à Gênes en 1924 dans une famille bourgeoise d’origine juive, Lisetta Carmi étudie d’abord la musique et s’engage avec un certain succès dans une carrière de concertiste. Elle décide finalement de se lancer dans la pratique de la photographie. Elle s’y consacrera quelque 18 années et produira un important corpus d’œuvres.

Lisetta Carmi conçoit cet art comme un important outil d’engagement politique et d’enquête anthropologique. Parmi ses reportages les plus marquants, nous retiendrons L’Italsider (1962), une série consacrée aux chantiers et aux aciéries, Genova Porto (1964), un reportage sur le travail et Erotismo e autoritarismo a Staglieno (1966), sur le cimetière monumental du quartier génois de Staglieno. Citons encore les douze portraits célèbres du poète Ezra Pound, ainsi que ceux qu’elle a pris de Lucio Fontana, Leonardo Sciascia, Edoardo Sanguineti, Alberto Arbasino, Sylvano Bussotti et Jacques Lacan.

Le Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève est heureux de présenter une exposition en deux volets (du 3 mai au 16 juin, puis du 20 juin au 25 août) mettant en lumière deux séries de travaux – I travestiti (1965) et Genova Porto – qui témoignent de la sensibilité de l’artiste envers le monde des travailleurs et leur cause.

I Travestiti, dont une importante sélection de clichés est présentée lors du premier volet, est une série particulièrement controversée. Réalisée à Gênes à la fin des années 1960 et au début des années 1970, elle livre une réflexion intime et sensible sur la question de l’identité de genre. C’est ce travail, tout comme celui qu’elle a consacré aux ouvriers et aux communautés marginalisées qui, par l’honnêteté de son regard et son empathie avec les sujets traités, ont rapproché la démarche de Lisetta Carmi de celle d’artistes comme Christer Strömholm et Nan Goldin.

En 1972, elle écrit: « Il est vrai que les travestis se déguisent, mais ils·elles le font par nécessité. Pourtant, ils·elles ont le courage de faire ce qu’ils·elles font et d’affronter une réalité souvent dramatique et violente. Pour beaucoup d’entre eux·elles, il n’y a pas d’alternative de travail: en tant qu’hommes, ils·elles ont une apparence trop féminine, et en tant que femmes, ils·elles ont les limites fixées par leur genre masculin à l’état civil. Ils·elles supportent des situations de solitude extrême, précisément parce que la société tout à la fois les recherche et les isole, elle les oblige en pratique à vivre dans des ghettos (à Gênes, leur quartier est justement l’ancien ghetto réservé aux juifs), elle a peur de se reconnaître en eux. Elle les utilise, les paie, les juge, ignorant volontairement que ce sont des êtres humains. Mais je crois que le jugement que nous portons sur les autres est presque toujours un jugement que nous portons sur nous-même: ce qui nous effraie chez les autres est aussi en nous. Et nous nous défendons toujours en faisant offense à cette part de nous que nous refusons. » (Lisetta Carmi, extrait de la quatrième de couverture du livre I Travestiti, Rome, Essedi Editrice, 1972).

Lisetta Carmi est aussi la première à documenter la communauté LGBTIQ en Italie. L’identité de genre est alors un véritable tabou dans une Italie catholique et ultraconservatrice. Carmi est attirée et fascinée par cette communauté ostracisée. Ses photographies révèlent l’humanité et la beauté intérieure de ses sujets dans un rapport naturel, amical, de proximité, proposant un nouveau point de vue sur la prostitution. En se posant en amie sincère, en les suivant dans leur vie quotidienne, elle fait l’exploit d’imposer comme normale l’idée d’un homme qui se maquille devant un miroir, qui porte une jupe et des bas, d’un homme qui se transforme en femme.

La recherche photographique de Lisetta Carmi est aussi, d’une certaine façon, un parcours introspectif de compréhension de soi, de son être femme dans une société profondément sexiste, comme elle l’écrit elle-même à propos de la série I Travestiti: « Grâce à la communauté trans, j’ai appris à m’accepter moi-même. Quand j’étais petite, je regardais mes frères Eugenio et Marcello en me disant que j’aurais bien voulu être un garçon, comme eux. Je savais que je ne me marierais jamais et je refusais le rôle qu’on réservait aux femmes. Les travestis m’ont fait comprendre que nous avons tous le droit de décider qui nous sommes. »

Image de couverture: Lisetta Carmi, I travestiti, 1965-71. © Lisetta Carmi, courtesy Martini e Ronchetti, Gênes. Collection Rigo-Saitta.  Reproduction: Annik Wetter
Visiter le 5e étage

Visiter le 5e étage
L’espace d’exposition virtuel du Centre

Visiter le 5e étage
L’espace d’exposition virtuel du Centre

Votre panier