Archive

Maïté Chénière

Maïté Chénière (Mighty)
My T. Ship: Hache d’argent


The Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève is pleased to present a set by Maïté Chénière (Mighty), developed over the course of her residency in the institution. This set will be activated during a live performance on September 12, 2019 at 9pm and visible in the Project Space until September 29.

Maïté Chénière adopts theoretical research, music, performance or video to create hybrid experiences. In her practice, she merges the cultural productions of racialized queer people, theoretical and popular knowledge to create an emancipatory discourse.

Mighty (Archipelagogo Club) is an Afro-futurist DJ and founding member of the House of ButchXtra. Through music, they travel in time and shed light on stories that have been ignored, in order to create a space of expression and gathering on the dancefloor for a multiplicity of bodies and identities.

The artist invites the audience to:
An alliance of synthetic fluids, deep light and archipelic bodies; “Hache d’argent” is a ship designed to descend into Drexciyan territory to meet the mutant maroons of the sea.
Powered by sonic energy, its hull deflects the rays of the hunt and it opens healing portals to bypass the ongoing disaster.

Maïté Chénière holds a Master’s degree in Visual Arts, CCC–Études critiques curatoriales cybermédias from HEAD – Geneva and a Bachelor’s degree in Visual Arts from the Royal Academy of Fine Arts in Brussels. Prior to that she studied wind instrument repair and manufacturing at Newark College, England. She has presented performances at Un lieu pour respirer, Paris; Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Berlin; Festival Les Urbaines, Lausanne, Théâtre de l’Usine, Cinéma Spoutnik, Geneva; D.A.F. Festival at the reliure, Geneva; Mains d’œuvres, Paris or at the Ateliers Claus, Brussels. Her work has also been presented at the Magical Solutions Congress, Leipzig; in Focale, Nyon; at the Spreechsaal Gallery, Berlin; at Circuits and Curents, Athens; at the Lac, Brussels, among others.

Cover image: Mighty
Visit the 5th floor

Visit the 5th floor
The virtual exhibition space of the Centre

Visit the 5th floor
The virtual exhibition space of the Centre

Your Cart

Archive

Maïté Chénière

Maïté Chénière (Mighty)
My T. Ship: Hache d’argent


Le Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève est heureux de présenter un dispositif de Maïté Chénière (Mighty), élaboré au cours de sa résidence dans l’institution. Ce dispositif sera activé lors d’une performance le 12 septembre 2019 à 21h et visible dans le Project Space jusqu’au 29 septembre.

Maïté Chénière adopte la recherche théorique, la musique, la performance ou encore la vidéo pour créer des expériences hybrides et s’intéresse aux productions culturelles de personnes queer racisées, mixant savoirs théoriques et populaires pour créer un discours émancipatoire.

Mighty (Archipelagogo Club) est unx DJ afrofuturiste et membre fondateur·rice·x de la House of ButchXtra. A travers la musique, il·elle voyage dans le temps et partage des récits passés sous silence au grand jour, afin de créer sur le dancefloor, un espace d’expression et de rassemblement pour une multiplicité de corps et d’identités.

L’artiste nous invite à :
Une alliance de fluides synthétiques, lumière profonde et corps archipéliques ; « Hache d’argent ». est un vaisseau conçu pour descendre en territoire Drexciyan à la rencontre des maronxs de l’eau mutantxs.
Propulsé à l’énergie sonique, sa coque dévie les rayons de la traque et il ouvre des portails de guérisons pour court-circuiter la catastrophe qui dure.

Maïté Chénière est titulaire d’un Master en Arts visuels, CCC – Études critiques curatoriales cybermédias de la HEAD – Genève et d’un Bachelor en Arts visuels de l’Académie Royale des Beaux  Arts de Bruxelles. Avant cela elle a étudié la réparation et fabrication d’instruments à vent au Newark College, Angleterre. Elle a présenté des performances à Un lieu pour respirer, Paris ; à la Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Berlin ; au Festival Les Urbaines, Lausanne, au Théâtre de L’Usine, au Cinéma Spoutnik, Genève ; au D.A.F. Festival à la reliure, Genève ; à Mains d’œuvres, Paris ou encore aux Ateliers Claus, Bruxelles. Son travail a également été présenté au Magical Solutions Congress, Leipzig ; à Focale, Nyon ; à la galerie Spreechsaal, Berlin ; à Circuits and Curents, Athènes ; au Lac, Bruxelles, entre autres.

Visiter le 5e étage

Visiter le 5e étage
L’espace d’exposition virtuel du Centre

Visiter le 5e étage
L’espace d’exposition virtuel du Centre

Votre panier