Archive

Scrivere Disegnando

Scrivere Disegnando
Quand la langue cherche son autre


Curated by Andrea Bellini and Sarah Lombardi


Scrivere Disegnando (“Writing by Drawing”) is an exhibition about writing and its double. Its aim is to look back over a number of practices, from the early twentieth century to the present day, in which writing leaves the function of communication behind and moves into the sphere of the uncommunicable, the unsayable. It sets out to explore the tension inherent in script, the way that it hovers between the genuinely semantic realm and the uncharted territory of mere arabesques, automatisms, repeated marks and scribbles. All of the works on view inhabit a special terrain vague in which the act of writing is more about “trying to say” than “saying” itself, more about potentialities of meaning than about signification, to paraphrase Giorgio Agamben. It is a kind of writing that sometimes verges on delirium; it is carried beyond meaning to become an existential self-affirmation, but it is also a fanciful metaphor for the world and its mysteries.

As the very first collaborative project between the Collection de l’Art Brut in Lausanne and the Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève, this exhibition brings together a diverse range of personalities: from “outsider” artists, some of whom carried out their work while institutionalized, all the way to “official” artists, some of whom played key roles in twentieth-century avant-garde and neo-avant-garde movements. What these very different individuals have in common is the desire to capture an “elsewhere” within writing, to move past the semantic dimension and freely mine the innovative and imaginative resources of language. Another interesting aspect of this project is the significant number of female artists. Since the early twentieth century, many women have used compulsive, often illegible handwriting to express an existential need for personal affirmation, often in response to a patriarchal world that preferred them to be politically invisible and socially voiceless. In their case, writing is almost for their own consumption, written by and for themselves, in order to understand who they are and their meaning in the world. The moment of writing becomes a moment of life, a private act, a sign of existence and tool of self-knowledge.

This ambitious project includes works commissioned for the occasion from artists who have focused for some time on constructing their own “private languages.” Placed throughout the exhibition are showcases presenting an impressive selection of books and documents which allow visitors to examine the question of personal languages, secret alphabets, and indecipherable codes in relation to the history of literature.

A richly illustrated 300-page catalogue will be published in conjunction with the exhibition. It will bring together essays specially commissioned from curators, critics, artists, philosophers, and academics on the questions of asemic writing and walk the reader through these plural writings. In addition to texts by curators Andrea Bellini and Sarah Lombardi, this volume will also include contributions by Federico Campagna (philosopher), Vincent Capt (researcher), François Chastanet (architect and graphic designer), Andrea Cortellessa (literary critic), Guillaume Leblon (artist), Morad Montazami (art historian), Joana Neves (curator), Marta Spagnolello (art historian), Michel Thévoz (writer, art historian, and philosopher) and Marina Yaguello (linguist). A bibliography and descriptions of the works of more than one hundred artists round out the publication.

With works by: Vincenzo Accame, Rosaire Appel, Tchello d’Barros, Roland Barthes, Gianfranco Baruchello, Tomaso Binga, Irma Blank, Nick Blinko, Alighiero Boetti, Marcia Brauer, Frédéric Bruly-Bouabré, Elijah Burgher, Axel Calatayud, Gaston Chaissac, Laura Cingolani, Guy de Cointet, Aloïse Corbaz, Dadamaino, Betty Danon, Hanne Darboven, Michel Dave, Michael Dean, Mirtha Dermisache, Emmanuel Derriennic, Jean Dubuffet, Giordano Falzoni, León Ferrari, Chiara Fumai, Pepe Gaitán, Jill Galliéni, Ryan Gander, Anne-Marie Gbindoun, Marco Giovenale, Rafael Gonzales, Josef Grebing, Mariangela Guatteri, Gustav, Elisabetta Gut, Brion Gysin, Emma Hauck, Takanori Herai, Joseph Heuer, Susan Hiller, Steffani Jemison, Carlo Keshishian, Annalies Klophaus, Maria Lai, Fabio Lapiana, Louise Lavallée-Tournay, Jürg Lehni, Dwight Mackintosh, Kunizo Matsumoto, Viviane Van Melkebebeeke, Reinhold Metz, Henri Michaux, Miriam Midley, Bruno Munari, JB Murray, Francis Palanc, Giulio Paolini, Luca Maria Patella, Enzo Patti, Jérôme Peignot, Jean Perdrizet, Nathalie Perrin, Laure Pigeon, Renata Prunas, Justine Python, Svetlana Rabey, Carmen Racovitza, Judit Reigl, Jane Ruffié, Valeri Scherstjanoi, Salome Schmuki, Greta Schödl, Luigi Serafini, Jeremy Shaw, Hélène Smith, Ivana Spinelli, Martina Stella, Lina Stern, Laurence Sterne, Barbara Suckfüll, Jenna Sutela, Cecil Touchon, Jeanne Tripier, Pascal Vonlanthen, August Walla, Robert Walser, Galaxia Wang, Melvin Way, and Adolf Wölfli.

Cover image : Scrivere Disegnando. Quand la langue cherche son autre written in the typeface Set in Stone by Ryan Gander
Visit the 5th floor

Visit the 5th floor
The virtual exhibition space of the Centre

Visit the 5th floor
The virtual exhibition space of the Centre

Your Cart

Archive

Scrivere Disegnando

Scrivere Disegnando
Quand la langue cherche son autre


Une proposition d’Andrea Bellini et Sarah Lombardi


Scrivere Disegnando (« écrire en dessinant ») est une exposition sur l’écriture et son double. Y sont passées en revue un certain nombre d’expériences, du début du XXe siècle à nos jours, dans lesquelles l’écriture abandonne sa fonction de communication pour s’aventurer sur les terres de l’incommunicable, de l’indicible. Elle cherche précisément à explorer cette tension de la graphie, son oscillation entre écriture, dans sa dimension proprement sémantique, et la terra incognita de la simple arabesque, de l’automatisme, du signe répété et du gribouillis. Toutes les œuvres présentées dans l’exposition habitent un territoire particulier, un terrain vague, dans lequel le geste d’écriture reflète davantage le « vouloir dire » que le « dire » lui-même, plus la force du sens que l’acte du signifié, pour paraphraser Giorgio Agamben. Une écriture parfois en délire, poussée au-delà du sens, qui devient trace existentielle et affirmation de soi, mais aussi élément fantastique, métaphore du monde et de ses mystères.

Fruit d’une collaboration inédite entre la Collection de l’Art Brut de Lausanne et le Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève, cette exposition réunit pour la première fois des personnalités très diverses : des artistes historiquement liés à l’art brut, dont certains ont mené leur activité d’écriture dans des maisons de repos et des asiles psychiatriques ainsi que des artistes des néo-avant-gardes et contemporains. Ce qui réunit des personnalités aussi différentes, c’est précisément cette volonté de saisir dans l’écriture un ailleurs, de dépasser la dimension sémantique de la langue, pour en explorer librement le potentiel novateur et fantastique. Le projet se démarque également par la place particulière qu’il fait aux femmes : à celles qui, dès le début du XXe siècle, ont mené des expériences de graphie compulsive, souvent illisible, comme moyen d’expression existentiel et d’affirmation de soi dans un monde patriarcal les rendant politiquement invisibles et socialement inaudibles. Le tempsde l’écriture est comme un temps de vie, un geste privé, une trace existentielle et un instrument d’une connaissance de soi.

Cet ambitieux projet s’enrichit d’œuvres commandées pour l’occasion à des artistes contemporains engagés dans la construction de langues secrètes, d’alphabets imaginaires ou de véritables « langues personnelles ». Enfin l’exposition est agrémentée d’une série de vitrines qui rassemblent d’une part des objets et exemples d’écritures asémiques d’artistes et proposent d’autre part un panorama historique de l’utilisation de langues imaginaires dans la littérature.

Un catalogue de près de 300 pages richement illustrées sera publié à l’occasion de cette exposition. Il rassemblera des essais spécialement commandés à des curateurs, critiques, artistes, philosophes et universitaires autour des questions d’écriture asémique et guidera le lecteur à travers ces écritures plurielles. Ainsi, outre les textes d’Andrea Bellini et Sarah Lombardi ce volume comprendra également des contributions de Federico Campagna (philosophe), Vincent Capt (chercheur), François Chastanet (architecte et graphiste), Andrea Cortellessa (critique littéraire), Guillaume Leblon (artiste), Morad Montazami (historien de l’art), Joana Neves (curatrice), Marta Spagnolello (historienne de l’art), Michel Thévoz (écrivain, historien de l’art et philosophe) et Marina Yaguello (linguiste). Une bibliographie ainsi que des notices sur les œuvres de plus de 100 artistes complèteront cette publication.

Avec des œuvres de Vincenzo Accame, Rosaire Appel, Tchello d’Barros, Roland Barthes, Gianfranco Baruchello, Tomaso Binga, Irma Blank, Nick Blinko, Alighiero Boetti, Marcia Brauer, Frédéric Bruly-Bouabré, Elijah Burgher, Axel Calatayud, Gaston Chaissac, Laura Cingolani, Guy de Cointet, Aloïse Corbaz, Dadamaino, Betty Danon, Hanne Darboven, Michel Dave, Michael Dean, Mirtha Dermisache, Emmanuel Derriennic, Jean Dubuffet, Giordano Falzoni, León Ferrari, Chiara Fumai, Pepe Gaitán, Jill Galliéni, Ryan Gander, Anne-Marie Gbindoun, Marco Giovenale, Rafael Gonzales, Josef Grebing, Mariangela Guatteri, Gustav, Elisabetta Gut, Brion Gysin, Emma Hauck, Takanori Herai, Joseph Heuer, Susan Hiller, Steffani Jemison, Carlo Keshishian, Annalies Klophaus, Maria Lai, Fabio Lapiana, Louise Lavallée-Tournay, Jürg Lehni, Dwight Mackintosh, Kunizo Matsumoto, Viviane Van Melkebebeeke, Reinhold Metz, Henri Michaux, Miriam Midley, Bruno Munari, JB Murray, Francis Palanc, Giulio Paolini, Luca Maria Patella, Enzo Patti, Jérôme Peignot, Jean Perdrizet, Nathalie Perrin, Laure Pigeon, Renata Prunas, Justine Python, Svetlana Rabey, Carmen Racovitza, Judit Reigl, Jane Ruffié, Valeri Scherstjanoi, Salome Schmuki, Greta Schödl, Luigi Serafini, Jeremy Shaw, Hélène Smith, Ivana Spinelli, Martina Stella, Lina Stern, Laurence Sterne, Barbara Suckfüll, Jenna Sutela, Cecil Touchon, Jeanne Tripier, Pascal Vonlanthen, August Walla, Robert Walser, Galaxia Wang, Melvin Way et Adolf Wölfli.

Image de couverture : Scrivere Disegnando. Quand la langue cherche son autre écrit dans la police Set in Stone de Ryan Gander
Visiter le 5e étage

Visiter le 5e étage
L’espace d’exposition virtuel du Centre

Visiter le 5e étage
L’espace d’exposition virtuel du Centre

Votre panier