Archive



BIM18 – Ligia Lewis

Ligia Lewis
Water Will (in Melody) / Preview


www.bim18.ch

Water Will (in Melody) is a devised choreographic work for four performers using melodrama as a point of departure. Wrestling with language and notions of “the will”, this dystopic fantasy becomes a space for negotiating desire, imagination, and feelings of an encroaching end. Unfolding with playful inventiveness, a wet and cavernous landscape becomes host to a fiction that invites instability, recreation, and catastrophe.

Lewis initiates this world in which voice, gesture, touch and movement, flow like waves––both gentle and turbulent. Through the language of mimesis, Lewis and her performers engage with the porousness of the theater by producing a fantastical-like materiality translucent to its metaphoric and symbolic weight.

Surrendering to the possibilities of the haptic, sense gets un-done to get re-done, paving way for an-“othered” organization of sight and touch. Through this process of alienation, exteriorization, and materialization, this melodrama touches the borders of its own making giving life to both the emotional landscape of its protagonists as well as to the theater itself.

 

Concept & choreography: Ligia Lewis
Performance: Titilayo Adebayo, Dani Brown, Ligia Lewis, Susanne Sachsse
Dramaturgy: Maja Zimmermann
Sound design: S. McKenna, Jassem Hindi
Light design: Ariel Efraim Ashbel
Technical director & light technician: Catalina Fernandez
Stage design: Eike Böttcher
Costume design: sowrong studio
Assistant: Carina Zox, Gilad Bendavid
Production management: HAU Artist Office / Sabine Seifert
Touring & distribution: HAU Artist Office / Nicole Schuchardt

Production: Ligia Lewis / HAU Hebbel am Ufer.
Co-production: Biennale de l’Image en Mouvement 2018 / Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève, tanzhaus nrw (Düsseldorf), Arsenic Centre d’art scénique contemporain (Lausanne), donaufestival (Krems), Walker Art Center (Minneapolis).
Funded by: Berlin Senate Department for Culture and Europe.
Supported by: Baryshnikov Arts Center (NYC).
Thanks to: Jarrett Gregory for residency support.

Visit the 5th floor

Visit the 5th floor
The virtual exhibition space of the Centre

Visit the 5th floor
The virtual exhibition space of the Centre

Your Cart

Archive



BIM18 – Ligia Lewis

Ligia Lewis
Water Will (in Melody) / Preview


www.bim18.ch

Water Will (in Melody) est une œuvre chorégraphique pour quatre interprètes qui puise ses origines dans le mélodrame. En se confrontant au langage et à l’idée de « volonté », cette dystopie fantasmagorique incarne un espace infini où se négocient le désir, l’imagination et les sentiments. Un paysage humide et poreux se dévoile avec inventivité pour accueillir une fiction invitant à l’instabilité, à la re-création et à la catastrophe.

Ligia Lewis met en place un univers dans lequel la voix, la gestuelle, le toucher et le mouvement déferlent avec autant d’impétuosité que de douceur. Par le biais de la mimésis, Ligia Lewis et ses interprètes explorent la porosité du théâtre pour créer une matérialité diaphane que parcourt sa propre charge métaphorique et symbolique.

En s’abandonnant aux possibilités qu’offre la perception du corps dans l’environnement, les sens se défont pour mieux se rejouer et ouvrent ainsi la voie à une réorganisation, fondée sur l’altérité, de la vue et du toucher. Ces processus d’aliénation, d’extériorisation et de matérialisation emportent le mélodrame qu’est Water Will (in Melody) aux confins de sa propre genèse, et donnent vie au paysage émotionnel de ses protagonistes comme au théâtre lui-même.

 

Concept & chorégraphie: Ligia Lewis
Performance: Titilayo Adebayo, Dani Brown, Ligia Lewis, Susanne Sachsse
Dramaturgie: Maja Zimmermann
Conception sonore: S. McKenna, Jassem Hindi
Design lumière: Ariel Efraim Ashbel
Directeur technique et directeur lumière : Catalina Fernandez
Mise en scène: Eike Böttcher
Costumes: sowrong studio
Assistant: Carina Zox, Gilad Bendavid
Management de production: HAU Artist Office / Sabine Seifert
Tournée & distribution: HAU Artist Office / Nicole Schuchardt

Production: Ligia Lewis / HAU Hebbel am Ufer.
Coproduction: Biennale de l’Image en Mouvement 2018 / Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève, tanzhaus nrw (Düsseldorf), Arsenic Centre d’art scénique contemporain (Lausanne), donaufestival (Krems), Walker Art Center (Minneapolis).
Financement: Berlin Senate Department for Culture and Europe.
Soutien: Baryshnikov Arts Center (NYC).
Remerciements: Jarrett Gregory

Visiter le 5e étage
L’espace d’exposition virtuel du Centre

Visiter le 5e étage
L’espace d’exposition virtuel du Centre

Votre panier