Archive



Italian Design Day 2019

Italian Design Day 2019
Veronica Toppino, Costume designer


On the occasion of the third Italian Design Day in the World Wednesday March 20, the Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève, with the complicity of the Consulate General of Italy in Geneva is pleased to present an evening with costume designer Veronica Toppino, who will present on this occasion her career and recent work.

After studies in Industrial Design at Politecnico di Torino and an experience in the fashion industry, Veronica Toppino studied Costume Design for Performance at London College of Fashion in order to pursue her interest in performance and materials experimentation. Her work has been selected for Xhibit 2017, as part of the best emerging talents from UAL, Toppino was also finalist of The Linbury Prize Award for Stage Design. She also collaborated  with the Victoria & Albert Museum and her work will be presented at the State Historical Museum in Moscow in Innovative Costume Of The 21st Century : The Next Generation in summer 2019.

Taking inspiration from subjects as varied as literature, fashion, ethics and contemporary dance, Veronica Toppino explores the relationship between dress, body and human existence in live performance and the ability of the costume to communicate metaphorically and viscerally with the audience.

Her artworks are the reflection of an intuition, which is the core of the work. She analyses the soul of the character and its journey of inner change in relation to social issues of everyday life. She considers the costume as a tool to express the nature of the character and its personality.

Her process of making follows a methodology that involves visual research, sketches, handcrafts, samples, sourcing and experimentation of materials and formulates the artwork at the very ‘end’. Indeed is often the material with its characteristics to define throughout the process the shape of the final piece. She utilises different material variants and techniques such as sculpture, textile, garment construction, tailoring, millinery, dye and DIY building methods, each time responding to visual and practical necessities of the costume on stage.

Visit the 5th floor

Visit the 5th floor
The virtual exhibition space of the Centre

Visit the 5th floor
The virtual exhibition space of the Centre

Your Cart

Archive



Italian Design Day 2019

Italian Design Day 2019
Veronica Toppino, designer de costumes


A l’occasion du troisième Italian Design Day – la Journée du design italien dans le monde qui se tiendra le mercredi 20 mars – le Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève, en collaboration avec le Consulat général d’Italie à Genève est heureux de proposer une soirée en compagnie de la designer de costumes Veronica Toppino, qui présentera à cette occasion son parcours et ses travaux récents.

Après des études en Design industriel au Politecnico de Turin et une expérience dans la mode, Veronica Toppino intègre le London College of Fashion en design de costumes pour la performance, afin de développer son intérêt pour la performance et l’expérimentation des matériaux. En 2017, elle est sélectionnée pour le concours Xhibit parmi les meilleurs talents émergents de l’University of the Arts de Londres et, la même année, elle est finaliste du Linbury Prize Award for Stage Design. Elle a également collaboré avec le Victoria & Albert Museum de Londres et son travail sera présenté cet été au Musée historique national de Moscou dans l’exposition Innovative Costume Of The 21st Century : The Next Generation.

S’inspirant de sujets aussi variés que la littérature, la mode, l’éthique ou encore la danse contemporaine, Veronica Toppino explore la relation entre le vêtement, le corps et l’existence humaine dans les arts de la scène. Elle s’intéresse à la capacité du costume à communiquer de façon métaphorique et viscérale avec le public.

Partir de ses intuitions est caractéristique de la pratique de Veronica Toppino. Elle dissèque l’esprit des protagonistes et comment leurs états d’âmes se transforment selon leur environnement quotidien. Le costume constitue à ses yeux un outil d’expression de la nature et la personnalité des personnages.

La designer adopte une méthodologie rigoureuse impliquant tour à tour recherche visuelle, croquis, travail manuel, échantillonnage et expérimentation matérielle pour aboutir à une création « finale ». Les matériaux et leurs caractéristiques définissent en effet la forme de la pièce à l’issue d’un long processus. Elle utilise différents supports et techniques telles que la sculpture, le textile, l’assemblage de vêtements, la couture, la chapellerie ou encore la teinture, en répondant à chaque fois aux besoins visuels et pratiques du costume sur scène.

Visiter le 5e étage

Visiter le 5e étage
L’espace d’exposition virtuel du Centre

Visiter le 5e étage
L’espace d’exposition virtuel du Centre

Votre panier