Archive



Talking Heads: DIS – Everything but the World, BIM’21

Talking Heads: DIS – Everything but the World, BIM’21


As part of the BIM’21, the Biennale de l’Image en Mouvement, HEAD – Genève welcomes the DIS collective for a conversation with Jill Gasparina and Lauren Huret, artist, coordinator of the [Inter]action option in the Visual Arts Department. The lecture will take place in the James-Fazy Building Auditorium and will be conducted in English.

HEAD – Genève is relaunching the TALKING HEADS, its series of public lectures, in person. This year it is curated by Jill Gasparina, art historian and curator, professor in the Department of Visual Arts, and Alexandra Midal, design historian and curator, professor in the Master’s degree Spaces and Communication.

DIS is a New York-based collective composed of Lauren Boyle, Solomon Chase, Marco Roso and David Toro. For over a decade, DIS has been working to develop platforms for cultural production, dissemination and reflection. Through its platforms, like DIS Magazine but also curatorial projects like the 9th Berlin Biennale (2016), the collective acts as a critical force in contemporary culture, as seductive as it is effective.

Following the evolution of the web (and the passage from the era of blogs to that of social networks and streaming sites), DIS is launching a new platform in 2018 – dis.art – which takes the pop production and broadcasting formats of sites like Netflix or Youtube, combining them with an educational requirement: a true art school in streaming, dis.art seeks to reconcile entertainment and learning. Original documentaries and artists’ videos are presented, mixing questions on the functioning of democratic regimes, media and economic theories, reflections on the technosphere and on new ways of accessing knowledge.

Conference in English
Tuesday November 9th at 6:30 pm
HEAD Campus, Building D
Boulevard James-Fazy 15
1201 Geneva

Visit the 5th floor

Visit the 5th floor
The virtual exhibition space of the Centre

Visit the 5th floor
The virtual exhibition space of the Centre

Your Cart

Archive



Talking Heads: DIS – Everything but the World, BIM’21

Talking Heads: DIS – Everything but the World, BIM’21


Dans le cadre de la BIM’21, la Biennale de l’Image en Mouvement, la HEAD – Genève accueille DIS en conversation avec Jill Gasparina et Lauren Huret, artiste, coordinatrice de l’option [Inter]action du Département des Arts visuels. La conférence aura lieu dans l’Auditoire du Bâtiment James-Fazy et se déroulera en anglais.

La HEAD – Genève relance les TALKING HEADS, son cycle de conférences publiques, en présentiel. Il est placé cette année sous le commissariat de Jill Gasparina, historienne de l’art et commissaire d’exposition, professeure au Département des Arts visuels, et Alexandra Midal, historienne du design et commissaire d’exposition, professeure au sein du Master Espaces et communication.

DIS est un collectif basé à New York, composé de Lauren Boyle, Solomon Chase, Marco Roso et David Toro. Depuis plus d’une décennie, DIS travaille à l’élaboration de plateformes de production, de diffusion et de réflexion culturelle. À travers ses plateformes, à l’image de DIS Magazine mais aussi des projets de commissariat comme celui de la 9e Biennale de Berlin (2016), le collectif agit comme une force critique de la culture contemporaine, aussi séduisante qu’efficace.

Suivant l’évolution du web (et le passage de l’ère des blogs à celui des réseaux sociaux et des sites de streaming), DIS lance en 2018 une nouvelle plateforme – dis.art – qui reprend les formats de production et diffusion pop de sites comme Netflix ou Youtube, en leur associant une exigence éducative : véritable école d’art en streaming, dis.art cherche à réconcilier divertissement et apprentissage. Y sont présentés des documentaires originaux et des vidéos d’artistes où se mêlent questionnements sur le fonctionnement des régimes démocratiques, théories des médias et de l’économie, réflexion sur la technosphère et sur les nouveaux modes d’accès à la connaissance.

Conférence en anglais
Mardi 9 novembre à 18h30
Campus HEAD, Bâtiment D
Boulevard James-Fazy 15
1201 Genève

Visiter le 5e étage

Visiter le 5e étage
L’espace d’exposition virtuel du Centre

Visiter le 5e étage
L’espace d’exposition virtuel du Centre

Votre panier