Archive



Adriana Monti

Adriana Monti
Scuola Senza fine and other films


The Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève is happy to host an evening with Adriana Monti, a leading figure in Italian feminist cinema. On this occasion, the Italian-Canadian filmmaker will present one of her key works, the film Scuola Senza Fine (1983).

Adriana Monti’s career began in the midst of women’s emancipation movements in Italy in the 1970s. Her practice is rooted in contemporary social reality : through her documentaries or fictions, she seeks to highlight the voices, thoughts and dialogues of groups of women in their daily lives. She thus gives them a space for self-expression and makes them actors of the European feminist upheaval of the time.

Scuola Senza Fine is a documentary film about a class of women of the 150 Hours Courses, an adult education project launched in Italy in 1974 and conceived for farmers and workers throughout the country. Initially reserved to men, this programme started to include women a few years later. The courses, which were not intended to increase or stimulate their professional productivity, provided the students with thinking tools – to reflect on themselves, on their community, their living conditions and well-being. Together, they debated and exchanged ideas and opinions on social issues that directly concerned them.

Despite graduating from the courses a few years earlier, a group of women (mostly housewives) continued to meet to pursue their reflections with their teacher. Scuola Senza Fine is the result of a close collaboration between Adriana Monti and these students, which lasted from 1979 to 1981.

It is together that they brought this film to life, as the students are both the characters and the co-authors. Adding in their own creativity, they blurred the boundaries between observing and being observed, between story-telling and autobiography, between writing and action. The spirit of community is at the center of this polyphonic discourse on emancipation, transmission and mutual aid.

Following this evening, Scuola Senza Fine and two other films by Adriana Monti, Filo a Catena and Gentili Signore, will all be screened on a loop until September 29, 2019 at Cinema Dynamo.

Filo a Catena (1986) follows the daily life of a group of women workers in a textile factory : what do dreams, ambition, human relations become in an environment saturated by mechanics ?

Gentili Signore (1988) tells the story of a group of Milanese women workers who decide to create a cooperative and start their own production, a choice that will change their lives.

Born in Milan in 1951, Monti is the founder of the experimental film school Laboratorio di Cinematografia – Albedo. She has also taught film history and production at the Università delle Donne and at the Film and Television School in Milan. She moved to Canada in 1996. She worked for 15 years for OMNI Television, before founding her own production company, A&Z Media Ltd.

cover image: 150 Hours Course. Via Gabbro 6. Monographic course on the body. Courtesy Lea Melandri.
Visit the 5th floor

Visit the 5th floor
The virtual exhibition space of the Centre

Visit the 5th floor
The virtual exhibition space of the Centre

Your Cart

Archive

Adriana Monti

Adriana Monti
Scuola Senza fine et autres films


Cette rentrée, le Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève est heureux de présenter une soirée inédite en compagnie d’Adriana Monti, figure de proue du cinéma féministe italien. À cette occasion, la cinéaste italo-canadienne présentera le film Scuola Senza Fine (1983), l’une de ses productions clé.

La carrière d’Adriana Monti débute au cœur de l’ébullition des mouvements militants pour l’émancipation féminine en Italie dans les années 1970. Sa pratique s’ancre dans la réalité sociale contemporaine : par ses documentaires ou ses fictions, elle s’attache à souligner les voix, les pensées, les dialogues de groupes féminins dans leur quotidien. Elle contribue à leur aménager un espace d’expression, les rendant ainsi actrices du bouleversement féministe européen de l’époque.

Scuola Senza Fine est un film documentaire sur l’univers féminin de l’une des classes des 150 Hours Courses, projet éducatif pour adultes lancés en 1974 en Italie et mis à la disposition des travailleurs et ouvriers à travers le pays. Initialement réservé aux hommes, ce programme inclut les femmes quelques années plus tard. Les cours, qui n’ont pas vocation d’augmenter ou stimuler la productivité professionnelle de chacun.e, permettent avant tout de donner des outils de réflexion – sur soi-même, sur sa communauté, ses conditions de vie, son bien-être. Ensemble, les élèves débattent et défendent leurs opinions autour de faits de société les concernant directement.

Malgré l’obtention de leur diplôme quelques années plus tôt, un groupe de femmes (au foyer pour la plupart) choisit de continuer à se réunir et de poursuivre les réflexions menées avec leur professeure. Scuola Senza Fine est le fruit d’une collaboration d’Adriana Monti et de ces « étudiantes », qui dura de 1979 à 1981. C’est toutes ensemble qu’elles donnent vie à cette œuvre ; les élèves prennent doublement part au film, dont elles sont également les co-auteures. Insufflant leur créativité propre dans la production, elles brouillent les frontières entre l’observant et l’observé, le récit et l’autobiographie, l’écriture et l’action. La collectivité est à la fois le sujet et l’objet de ce travail, un discours polyphonique sur l’émancipation, la transmission, l’entraide.

À la suite de cette soirée, Scuola Senza Fine ainsi que deux autres films d’Adriana Monti, Filo a Catena et Gentili Signore, seront tous trois projetés en boucle jusqu’au 6 octobre 2019.

Filo a Catena (1986) suit le quotidien d’un groupe de travailleuses d’une usine textile ; que deviennent les rêves, l’ambition, les relations humaines dans un environnement saturé par la mécanique ?

Gentili Signore (1988) raconte l’histoire d’un groupe d’ouvrières milanaises qui décident de créer une coopérative et de lancer leur propre production, bouleversant leurs vies à toutes.

Née à Milan en 1951, Adriana Monti est la fondatrice de l’école de cinéma expérimental Laboratorio di Cinematografia – Albedo. Elle a enseigné également l’histoire du cinéma et la production à l’Università delle Donne ainsi qu’à la Film and Television School à Milan. Elle déménage au Canada en 1996. Elle travaille pendant 15 ans pour le média OMNI Television, avant de fonder sa propre société de production, A&Z Media Ltd.

 

Image de Couverture: 150 Hours Course. Via Gabbro 6. Cours monographique sur le corps. Courtesy Lea Melandri.
Visiter le 5e étage

Visiter le 5e étage
L’espace d’exposition virtuel du Centre

Visiter le 5e étage
L’espace d’exposition virtuel du Centre

Votre panier