Archive

Almusibli Panorama

Almusibli Panorama
July – October 2020


Roman Selim Khereddine, Andrea Vescovi, Adji Dieye, Alessia Gunawan, Jiajia Zhang, Alfatih, Ian Wooldridge, Remy Ugarte Vallejos, Miriam Laura Leonardi, Mia Sanchez, Linus Stiefel & Mindaugas Matulis, Camille Dumond


We are happy to host in our Cinema Dynamo, a survey of the first four month of the films presented in the program Almusibli Panorama, on our digital extension, the 5th floor.

Each month, the Swiss curator Mohamed Almusibli presents a selection of digital works recently produced by Swiss artists or artists living and working in Switzerland in the Works section on the 5th floor. At the end of a year of programming, a panorama of the territories and forms emerging from the Swiss art scene in all its diversity will thus be drawn up.

 

Roman Selim Khereddine
German Shepherds Need Heroes Too
2020
This video focuses on the links between German and Belgian shepherds and their owners in Morocco, where this type of dog is particularly popular. The artist questions the owners, in order to know if they are influenced by the violent past of their canids, knowing that these dogs have historically been used in military and police work. Excerpts from Youtube videos of dog lovers and reports are combined here with an essay appearing in the form of captions.

Roman Selim Khereddine, born in 1989, lives and works in Zurich. He holds a master’s degree in history from the University of Zurich and a fine arts degree from the Zurich University of the Arts, ZHDK.

 

Andrea Vescovi
Punk Funeral
2020
Punk Funeral comes from a YouTube post from an Italian online journal. The post was about a murder and the title was: “She gave me the virus and I killed her”. The work is structured around responses posted in reply to one specific comment under the video. The final picture of all of these voices reenacts the abuse, shallowness and selfishness displayed, ultimately becoming a funeral farewell following this depicted girl’s death.

Andrea Vescovi, born in Savona in 1996, lives and works in Lausanne where he attends the master in visual arts at ECAL/Ecole cantonale d’art de Lausanne.

 

Adji Dieye
Circuit Fermé
2017
Circuit Fermé is a video performance belonging to a larger project titled Maggic CubeMaggic Cube is the result of a research into the notion of branding and its influence on the production of visual culture in the West-African sphere. The project title refers to the famous Maggi-stock cubes, which have become a key ingredient in many West African cuisines. Adopting ironic attitude towards the appropriation of space through the selling of goods, this video features a young man strolling around a Milanese market to sell these “magic” cubes.​

Adji Dieye, born in 1991, is an artist living and working between Zurich, Milan, and Dakar. Dieye holds a Bachelor’s degree in New Technologies of Arts from the Academy of Fine Arts of Brera in Milan and a Master of Fine arts from the Zurich University of the Arts, ZHDK.

 

Alessia Gunawan
Counter Faith
2020
Counter Faith explores a personal narration that aims to understand the motor behind the construction of gated communities in Indonesia as the violent imaginaries of 1998 remain unresolved in the nation’s damaged system. Questioning the role of violence and working through experiences of trauma, Gunawan looks at how much these stories have impacted the construction of personal perceptions.

Born in Jakarta in 1995 to Italian and Chinese Indonesian parents, Alessia Gunawan is a multimedia artist primarily working with photography and film. In her projects, Gunawan focuses on unveiling the hyper saturated images that conceal the various aspects of a globalized and seemingly connected contemporary culture.

 

Jiajia Zhang
Orlando, Chapter I
2019-ongoing
Orlando is based on Virginia Woolf’s book of the same name and Sally Potter’s adaptation from 1992. The video is an attempt to ‘exteriorize consciousness’ or to describe the secret machinery of the mind by finding and collaging images of the outer world with a Spanish dubbed soundtrack of Orlando.
As Orlando lives through 400 years which bring changes in costume, history, role and sex, the images of our times also shape us and write themselves on our identity. The video presented is the first chapter of the 93-minute film made by the artist, which is 7 in length: Death / Love / Poetry / Politics / Society / Sex / Birth.

Originally trained as an architect, Jiajia Zhang is culturally both Chinese and Swiss, and her rigorous and quite moving artistic practice—which moves deftly between film, writing, sculpture, and installation—mediates between common materials, relational and representative space, myriad political perspectives, and the diaristic poetry of the everyday.

 

Alfatih
On Vacation
2019
On Vacation is a series of vlogs recorded in San Francisco (US), Los Santos (US/GTA) and Lausanne (CH), initially uploaded to Instagram over a five-week period between February and March 2019. The city of Los Santos was altered to stage a fiction, which then evolved according to unpredictable in-game events and audience inputs—on gun violence, on toxic masculinity, on reclaiming spaces, on performative activism, on vacation.

Alfatih (b. 1995) lives and works in Fribourg and has presented interactive, installative and video works in institutions and spaces such as Haus der elektronischen Kunste, Les Urbaines, or WallRiss.

 

Ian Wooldridge
HOMEBASE
2020
The foundation of HOMEBASE is a 3D scan of a failed utopian family home, the “Casa Sperimentale”. It’s the kind of building one would feel dreamy about when coming across it in a lifestyle magazine, a space for escape and projection that one can take and project onto and this time the projection is of a karaoke bar. HOMEBASE unfolds with coded text and sound that are informed by personal adolescent history, negating the self with a universal nostalgia.

Ian Wooldridge (1982, England) is an artist and author based in Zurich. He is also a musician in the group LIVE SHOW, which he forms with the architect and composer Li Tavor.

 

Remy Ugarte Vallejos
Tendency of Capture
2020
As a research on power structures and resistance, Tendency of Capture looks at notions of the tribal and the primitive in Western societies by confronting scenes from rural Bolivia with urban tribes in the city of Berlin. In doing so, the work seeks to link similarly distant subjects and addresses the intersections between primitive cultures and technologies of contemporary life. Tendency of Capture thereby reflects upon ‘capture’ in a broader sense: Capture within structures of control and surveillance societies; capture in terms of hunting and animal instinct; capture in relation to land occupation, exploitation, and oppression of the indigenous by colonial powers; and finally, capture in terms of image capture, asking the question: Doesn’t the act of capturing images always involve a certain degree of violence?
Remy Ugarte Vallejos (1993, Fribourg) lives and works in Lausanne. He has a degree in photography from the ECAL (Lausanne) and is currently enrolled in the Master of Fine Arts at the HEAD – Genève.

 

Miriam Laura Leonardi
Sylvia
2020
In a series of video portraits of female friends, Miriam Laura Leonardi undertakes a task with her subject. In her most recent portrait, Sylvia (2020), Miriam films herself filming former video vixen and celebrity stylist Sylvia Nek picking seashells with her son on the shore. Earlier portraits include Michèle (2019), in which Miriam and the artist Michèle Graf each play one hand of Scott Joplin’s ragtime classic The Entertainer, a piece taught to both women by their fathers. In Géraldine (2016), she gives a camera to publisher and writer Géraldine Beck and takes her on a boat trip in the jungle. In Bleta (2015), Miriam goes hunting with the artist Bleta Jahai, examining each part of a deer’s innards and organs with their hands after its stomach is slit open. The soundtrack to Sylvia is called Big Coast by Beautiful Swimmers.

Miriam Laura Leonardi (1985, Lörrach) holds a Master of Fine Arts from the ZHdK after studying photography in Paris. She currently lives and works in Zurich.

 

Mia Sanchez
Fists Full of Secrets
2019
A woman dressed in a coat and wearing sunglasses wanders through a city. She looks for things to react to in urban space and chances upon them as she wanders around. She is present, yet her stoic and mysterious autonomy defy conventional behavioral patterns…

Mia Sanchez (1988, lives and works in Basel) is a visual artist whose work tackles perceptions of language, narratives and rythme, as a tool for thinking identity, through different mediums such as sculpture, photography and video.

 

Linus Stiefel & Mindaugas Matulis
Tu veux sortir avec moi ?
2020
Tu veux sortir avec moi? is a video clip for the band Crème Solaire. The video stages a wild ride in the hot summer sun that causes sweat to pour down the cold-blooded faces of Mendog&Stevil, the protagonists created by Linus Stiefel and Mindaugas Matulis. They run, chasing each other, pushing each other and making their way through the suburbs in search of a mysterious suitcase.

Linus Stiefel (1996, lives and works in Zurich) is a swiss artist and musician, frequently working in collaboration with Mindaugas Matulis (1997, lives and works in Lausanne). Their fragmentary workflow is both their boon and bane.

 

Camille Dumond
The escape
2019
The escape is a fictional documentary highlighting from behind the scenes the lives of airport employees. Based on real stories reenacted by actors, the film narrates the imaginary and emancipating journey of three stopover agents within a heterotopia.

Camille Dumond (1988, lives and works in Geneva) is an interdisciplinary artist with degrees from HEAD – Genève and ESBANM, Nantes. Her practice takes the form of installations and objects, conceived before or after the films she has been making since 2017, on the edge of the visual arts and cinema.


With the support of

Sponsors

Visit the 5th floor

Visit the 5th floor
The virtual exhibition space of the Centre

Visit the 5th floor
The virtual exhibition space of the Centre

Your Cart

Archive



Almusibli Panorama

Almusibli Panorama
Juillet – octobre 2020


Roman Selim Khereddine, Andrea Vescovi, Adji Dieye, Alessia Gunawan, Jiajia Zhang, Alfatih, Ian Wooldridge, Remy Ugarte Vallejos, Miriam Laura Leonardi, Mia Sanchez, Linus Stiefel & Mindaugas Matulis, Camille Dumond


Nous sommes heureux d’accueillir dans notre Cinema Dynamo, un aperçu des quatre premiers mois du programme Almusibli Panorama, présenté depuis juillet sur notre extension digitale, le 5e étage.

Chaque mois, le curateur suisse Mohamed Almusibli fait dialoguer une sélection d’œuvres digitales récemment produites par des artistes suisses ou vivant et travaillant en Suisse dans la section Works du 5e étage. À l’issue d’une année de programmation, un panorama des territoires et des formes qui émergent de la scène artistique helvétique dans toute sa diversité sera ainsi dessiné.

 

Roman Selim Khereddine
German Shepherds Need Heroes Too
2020
Cette vidéo s’intéresse aux liens entre les bergers allemands et belges et leurs propriétaires au Maroc, où ce type de chien est particulièrement populaire. L’artiste questionne ici les propriétaires, afin de savoir s’ils sont influencés par la tendance violente de leurs canidés, sachant que ces chiens ont été historiquement utilisés dans le travail militaire et policier. Des extraits de vidéos Youtube de Marocains amateurs de chiens et des reportages sont associés à un essai, qui prend la forme de légendes.

Roman Selim Khereddine, né en 1989, vit et travaille à Zurich. Il est titulaire d’une master en histoire de l’Université de Zurich et en beaux-arts de l’Université des Arts de Zurich, ZHDK.

 

Andrea Vescovi
Punk Funeral
2020
Punk Funeral s’inspire d’un post YouTube d’un journal en ligne italien. L’article traitait d’un meurtre et s’intitulait : « Elle m’a donné le virus et je l’ai tuée ». L’œuvre de Vescovi reprend les réponses à un commentaire spécifique sous ce post. La compilation de toutes ces voix issues des commentaires révèlent tous les abus, la superficialité et l’égoïsme des auteur·trice·s et composent un véritable éloge funèbre à la victime.
Andrea Vescovi, né en 1996 à Savone, vit et travaille à Lausanne où il poursuit ses études de Master en arts visuels à l’ECAL/Ecole cantonale d’art de Lausanne.

 

Adji Dieye
Circuit Fermé
2017
Circuit Fermé est une performance vidéo qui s’inscrit dans un projet plus vaste intitulé Maggic Cube. Maggic Cube est le résultat de recherches sur la notion de marque et son influence dans la production de la culture visuelle en Afrique de l’Ouest. Le titre du projet fait référence aux célèbres bouillons cubes Maggi, devenus un ingrédient de base dans de nombreux plats d’Afrique de l’Ouest. Née de l’appropriation ironique d’un espace par la vente de marchandises, cette vidéo montre un jeune homme qui se promène dans un marché milanais et essaie de vendre ces fameux «cubes magiques».

Née en 1991, Adji Dieye vit et travaille entre Zurich, Milan et Dakar. Elle est titulaire d’un Bachelor en nouvelles technologies des arts de l’Académie des Beaux-Arts de Brera à Milan et d’un master de l’Université des Arts de Zurich, ZHDK.

 

Alessia Gunawan
Counter Faith
2020
Counter Faith suit une narration personnelle pour comprendre comment des communautés fermées se construisent en Indonésie, alors que les violences de 1998 ont laissé des traces et ont fragilisé la nation. Interroger le rôle de la violence et travailler sur les expériences de traumatisme permettent à Alessia Gunawan d’examiner leur impact sur la construction des perceptions personnelles.

Née à Jakarta en 1995 de parents italiens et sino-indonésiens, Alessia Gunawan est une artiste multimédia qui travaille principalement dans les champs de la photographie et du cinéma. Dans ses projets, Gunawan s’attache à révéler les images hyper saturées qui dissimulent les différents aspects d’une culture contemporaine mondialisée et manifestement interconnectée.

 

Jiajia Zhang
Orlando, Chapter I
2019-en cours
Orlando s’inspire du livre éponyme de Virginia Woolf et de son adaptation cinématographique réalisée par Sally Potter en 1992. La vidéo est une tentative  « d’extérioriser la conscience » ou de décrire les mécanismes secrets de l’esprit par la recherche et le collage d’images du monde extérieur, accompagnée de la bande son d’Orlando doublée en espagnol.
Comme la vie d’Orlando, qui s’écoule pendant 400 ans et varie selon les costumes, le contexte historique, ses rôles et son sexe, les images actuelles viennent ici façonner et s’inscrire dans notre identité.
Les sept chapitres du film de 93 minutes seront présentés successivement : Mort / Amour / Poésie / Politique / Société / Sexe / Naissance.

De culture sino-helvétique, Jiajia Zhang, a reçu une formation d’architecte. Sa pratique artistique rigoureuse et émouvante oscille habilement entre le cinéma, l’écriture, la sculpture et l’installation et crée une forme de médiation entre les matériaux communs, l’espace relationnel et représentatif, l’infinité des perspectives et la poésie diaristique du quotidien.

 

Alfatih
On Vacation
2019
On Vacation est une série de vlogs enregistrés à San Francisco (US), Los Santos (US/GTA) et Lausanne (CH), initialement téléchargés sur Instagram sur une période de cinq semaines entre février et mars 2019. La ville de Los Santos a été modifiée pour accueillir une fiction, laquelle a évolué en fonction des événements imprévisibles du jeu et des commentaires du public sur On Vacation au sujet de la violence armée, la masculinité toxique, la récupération des espaces, l’activisme performatif.
Alfatih (né en 1995) vit et travaille à Fribourg et a présenté des œuvres interactives, des installations et vidéo dans des institutions et des espaces tels que Haus der elektronischen Kunste, WallRiss ou encore le festival Les Urbaines.

 

Ian Wooldridge
HOMEBASE
2020
Le concept de HOMEBASE est fondé sur le scan 3D d’une maison familiale utopique mais ratée, la « Casa Sperimentale ». Ce type de construction fait rêver quand on le croise en feuilletant un magazine lifestyle. Il s’agit d’un espace d’évasion sur lequel il est facile de se projeter sauf que cette fois on se projette sur un bar karaoké. HOMEBASE est accompagné d’une bande son et d’un texte codé, qui, inspiré par l’histoire personnelle de l’adolescent, nie le moi par l’expression d’une nostalgie universelle.

Ian Wooldridge (1982, Angleterre) est un artiste et auteur installé à Zurich. Il est également musicien dans le groupe LIVE SHOW, qu’il forme avec l’architecte et compositeur Li Tavor.

 

Remy Ugarte Vallejos
Tendency of Capture
2020
Tendency of Capture est une étude sur les structures de pouvoir et la résistance à ces structures. Elle examine des notions comme le tribal et le primitif dans les sociétés occidentales en mettant en parallèle des scènes de la Bolivie rurale avec des tribus urbaines de la ville de Berlin. Ce faisant, l’œuvre cherche à relier des sujets apparemment éloignés et aborde les intersections entre les cultures primitives et les technologies de la vie contemporaine. Tendency of Capture s’intéresse donc à l’idée de capture au sens le plus large : capture de l’individu au sein des structures des sociétés de contrôle et de surveillance ; capture sous l’angle de la chasse et de l’instinct animal ; capture due à l’occupation des terres, l’exploitation et l’oppression des autochtones par les puissances coloniales ; et enfin, capture en termes de capture d’images, soulevant donc la question : l’acte de capturer des images n’implique-t-il pas toujours un certain degré de violence ?

Remy Ugarte Vallejos (1993, Fribourg) vit et travaille à Lausanne. Il est diplômé en photographie de l’ECAL (Lausanne) et est actuellement inscrit au Master arts visuels à la HEAD – Genève.

 

Miriam Laura Leonardi
Sylvia 
2020
En réalisant une série de portraits vidéo de ses amies, Miriam Laura Leonardi se livre à une véritable recherche. Dans son dernier portrait, Sylvia (2020), Miriam se filme en train de capter l’image de l’ancienne modèle de clip et styliste de célébrités Sylvia Nek ramassant des coquillages avec son fils sur le rivage. Parmi les premiers portraits, citons Michèle (2019), dans laquelle Miriam et l’artiste Michèle Graf jouent chacune une main du classique ragtime de Scott Joplin The Entertainer, un morceau que chacune avait appris avec son père. Dans Géraldine (2016), elle donne un appareil photo à l’éditrice et écrivaine Géraldine Beck et l’emmène en bateau dans la jungle. Dans Bleta (2015), Miriam et l’artiste Bleta Jahai partent à la chasse, et détaillent à la main les entrailles et les organes d’un cerf. La bande originale de Sylvia est un titre intitulé Big Coast des Beautiful Swimmers.

Miriam Laura Leonardi (1985, Lörrach) a obtenu un Master en beaux-arts de la ZHdK après avoir étudié la photographie à Paris. Elle vit et travaille actuellement à Zurich.

 

Mia Sanchez
Fists Full of Secrets
2019
Une femme vêtue d’un manteau et portant des lunettes de soleil se promène dans une ville. Elle semble en quête d’évènements qui se produiraient dans l’espace urbain, plutôt que de poursuivre un but déterminé. Il n’est pas clair si elle est également suivie. Sa présence, stoïque et mystérieuse, défie les comportements conventionnels…

Mia Sanchez (1988, vit et travaille à Bâle) est une artiste visuelle dont le travail s’appuie sur les perceptions du langage, des récits et du rythme, pour proposer une réflexion sur l’identité, à travers différents médiums tels que la sculpture, la photographie et la vidéo.

 

Linus Stiefel & Mindaugas Matulis
Tu veux sortir avec moi ?
2020
Tu veux sortir avec moi ? est un clip du groupe Crème Solaire. La vidéo met en scène une course folle sous un soleil de plomb, qui fait perler la sueur sur les visages impassibles de Mendog&Stevil, les protagonistes issus de l’imagination de Linus Stiefel et Mindaugas Matulis. Ils courent, se prennent en chasse, se poussent et se fraient un chemin à travers les banlieues, en quête d’une mystérieuse valise.

Linus Stiefel (1996, vit et travaille à Zurich) est un artiste et musicien suisse, qui travaille fréquemment en collaboration avec Mindaugas Matulis (1997, vit et travaille à Lausanne). Leur travail fragmentaire est à la fois une aubaine et un fléau.

 

Camille Dumond
The escape
2019
The escape est un documentaire fictionnel qui invite à découvrir les coulisses de la vie d’employé-e-s d’aéroport. Fondé sur des histoires réelles rejouées par des acteurs-trices, le film narre le parcours imaginaire et émancipateur de trois agent-e-s d’escale au sein d’une hétérotopie.

Camille Dumond (1988, vit et travaille à Genève) est une artiste interdisciplinaire diplômée de la HEAD – Genève et de l’ESBANM, Nantes. Sa pratique se décline sous la forme d’installations et d’objets, pensés avant ou après les films qu’elle réalise depuis 2017, à la lisière des arts visuels et du cinéma.

 


Programme présenté avec le soutien de

Sponsors

Visiter le 5e étage

Visiter le 5e étage
L’espace d’exposition virtuel du Centre

Visiter le 5e étage
L’espace d’exposition virtuel du Centre

Votre panier