Archive



Chuquimamani-Condori

Chuquimamani-Condori

Across the Policed World: A Transnocturnal Huayño


“From the darkness of eternal night, weaving twilight, weaving red through the heat of their voices
They say the ancestors were dancing, singing:
Desnudito, never let the light come / Desnudito, never let the day arrive
Because they knew the approaching sunrise brought the mundo en policía (policed world)”
–Aymara oral history

The Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève is pleased to present Across the Policed World: A Transnocturnal Huayño, an exhibition by multidisciplinary artist and musician Chuquimamani-Condori.

The exhibition builds a historical foundation for the first commissioned moving-image work by Chuquimamani-Condori and her brother Joshua Chuquimia Crampton.

Amaru’s Tongue: Daughter was shot mostly on 8mm film, with original animation, and a score composed and performed by Joshua Chuquimia Crampton. The film enacts a ceremony for the artists’ late grandmother, Flora Tancara Quiñonez Chuquimia and details the event in stories from the artists’ family that compose part of the Aymara community, a group of indigenous nations whose territories overlap with Bolivia, Chile and Peru, and whose people live today across the globe, maintaining relations through land ties and ceremony.

With a sound installation and archival photography, the exhibition invites visitors to enter the intimate atmosphere of ceremony, providing an introduction to the film, and attesting to a longer history of ceremony across the artist’s family or wila masinaka, blood friends.

In a collage-like assemblage, the film weaves archival audio and visual recordings interlaced with brief, personal stories from the artists’ great-grandparents and grandparents who fought for native education and the abolition of the Hacienda institution in the 1950s, a large system of landholdings sustained by the Bolivian Republic, under which Aymara people were enslaved for agricultural labor.

Amaru’s Tongue: Daughter opens a series of multiple beginnings, that together hint at an experience of the nonlinearity of time known in Aymaran as qhipnayra, in which the past is faced “ahead” and the future lies “behind”. The scenes of the film show Flora met by a dog, a condor and a hummingbird, central figures in the three-year transition to death, detailing Aymaran oral traditions.

Amaru’s Tongue: Daughter is commissioned by Auto Italia and produced by the Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève, Auto Italia (London) and Haus der Kunst (Munich). The film was premiered simultaneously in London and Munich. In Geneva, it is presented for the first time as part of a larger three-room installation by Chuquimamani-Condori. Across the Policed World: A Transnocturnal Huayño is curated by Andrea Bellini. The artist will present a talk on the night of the opening, on Friday March 4 at 8pm.

Chuquimamani-Condori is a multidisciplinary artist and musician belonging to the Pakaxa-Aymara nation. She has released multiple critically acclaimed records, including her most recent LP ORCORARA 2010 (2020) released on cutting-edge label PAN. Originally debuted at the Biennale de l’Image en Mouvement 2018, it interweaves acoustic guitars, droning synthesizers, piano, the spoken word, and guest singers.
Recent presentations have been given at Abrons Art Center, New York City (2021); The Vinyl Factory (2020); Biennale of the Moving Image at Centre D’Art Contemporain Genève (2018); Berghain, Berlin (2018); 6th Berlin Biennale (2016). Her first book Amarupachankiri was published earlier this year with Puro Fantasia.

Cover image: Photography of the artist’s grandmother, Flora Tancara Quiñones Montevilla Chuquimia.

With the support of

Sponsors

Sponsors

Sponsors

Sponsors

Sponsors

Sponsors

Visit the 5th floor
Visit the 5th floor The virtual exhibition space of the Centre

Visit the 5th floor
The virtual exhibition space of the Centre

Visit the 5th floor
The virtual exhibition space of the Centre

Your Cart

Archive



Chuquimamani-Condori

Chuquimamani-Condori

Across the Policed World: A Transnocturnal Huayño


« De l’obscurité de la nuit éternelle, tissant le crépuscule, tissant le rouge à travers la chaleur de leurs voix
Ils disent que les ancêtres dansaient, chantaient :
Desnudito, ne laisse jamais venir la lumière / Desnudito, ne laisse jamais arriver le jour
Parce qu’ils savaient que l’approche du lever du soleil amenait le mundo en policía (monde policé) ».
-Histoire orale aymara

Le Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève a le plaisir de présenter Across the Policed World : A Transnocturnal Huayño, une exposition de l’artiste multidisciplinaire et musicienne Chuquimamani-Condori.

L’exposition présente les fondements historiques de la première œuvre d’image en mouvement commissionnée à Chuquimamani-Condori et son frère Joshua Chuquimia Crampton.

Amaru’s Tongue: Daughter est tourné en grande partie sur pellicule 8 mm, avec des séquences d’animation originales et une musique composée et interprétée par Joshua Chuquimia Crampton. Le film met en scène une cérémonie en l’honneur de la grand-mère défunte des artistes, Flora Tancara Quiñonez Chuquimia. Il détaille l’événement à travers des histoires de leur famille, issue de la communauté aymara, un groupe de nations autochtones dont les territoires s’étendent sur la Bolivie, le Chili et le Pérou. Ses membres vivent aujourd’hui dans le monde entier, entretenant des relations par le biais de liens territoriaux et de cérémonies.

L’installation sonore et les photographies d’archives exposées invitent le public à pénétrer dans l’atmosphère intime d’une cérémonie, offrant ainsi une introduction au film et témoignent d’une histoire plus large de la cérémonie au sein de la famille de l’artiste ou wila masinaka, les « amis de sang ».

Dans un assemblage de type collage, le film associe des enregistrements audio à des visuels d’archives, entrelacés de brèves histoires personnelles des arrière-grands-parents et grands-parents des artistes, qui se sont battus pour l’éducation des autochtones et l’abolition du système de l’Hacienda dans les années 1950. Soutenue par la République bolivienne, cette vaste organisation de propriétés foncières a réduit les Aymara en esclavage pour effectuer des travaux agricoles.

Amaru’s Tongue: Daughter offre une série de commencements différents qui, ensemble, suggèrent une expérience de non-linéarité du temps, connue en aymaran sous le nom de qhipnayra, où le passé se trouve « devant » et le futur « derrière ». Les scènes du film montrent Flora visitée par un chien, un condor et un colibri, figures majeures des trois années de transition vers la mort, selon les traditions orales aymaranes.

Amaru’s Tongue: Daughter est commissionné par Auto Italia et coproduit par le Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève, Auto Italia et l’Haus der Kunst. Le film a été présenté en première simultanément à Londres et à Munich. À Genève, il est présenté pour la première fois dans le cadre d’une installation plus vaste de trois pièces, réalisée par Chuquimamani-Condori. Across the Policed World : A Transnocturnal Huayño est une proposition d’Andrea Bellini. L’artiste propose au public une présentation autour de l’exposition à 20h le soir du vernissage le vendredi 4 mars.

Chuquimamani-Condori est une artiste multidisciplinaire et musicienne appartenant à la nation Pakaxa-Aymara. Elle a publié de multiples disques salués par la critique, dont son plus récent vinyle LP ORCORARA 2010 (2020) paru sur le label avant-gardiste PAN. Initialement lancé à la Biennale de l’Image en Mouvement 2018, il mêle guitares acoustiques, synthétiseurs drone, piano, spoken word et chanteur·euse·x·s invité·e·x·s.
Des représentations récentes ont été données à l’Abrons Art Center, New York (2021) ; à la Vinyl Factory (2020) ; à la Biennale de l’Image en Mouvement au Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève (2018) ; au Berghain, Berlin (2018) ; à la 6e Biennale de Berlin (2016). Son premier livre Amarupachankiri a été publié en 2021 chez Puro Fantasia.

Cover image: Photographie de la grand mère de l’artiste Flora Tancara Quiñones Montevilla Chuquimia.

Avec le soutien de

Sponsors

Sponsors

Sponsors

Sponsors

Sponsors

Sponsors

Visiter le 5e étage
Visiter le 5e étage L’espace d’exposition virtuel du Centre

Visiter le 5e étage
L’espace d’exposition virtuel du Centre

Visiter le 5e étage
L’espace d’exposition virtuel du Centre

Votre panier