Archive

Guerreiro do Divino Amor

Guerreiro do Divino Amor
Superfictional Sanctuaries


The Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève is pleased to present Superfictional Sanctuaries, the first retrospective of Swiss-Brazilian artist, Guerreiro do Divino Amor.

The exhibition premieres The Miracle of Helvetia, a work commissioned by the Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève with the support of the Embassy of Foreign Artists and DAAD Artists-in-Berlin program. As the sixth and latest chapter of the artist’s ongoing research project, Superfictions, The Miracle of Helvetia explores what makes up the Swiss collective imagination and national identity.

The Superfictions saga began in Brussels in 2005 aiming to create a ‘Superfictional World Atlas’. The research process typically starts in the territory which will become the artist’s subject. Guerreiro do Divino Amor combines his own experience with digital archaeology, excavating and reappropriating institutional corporative iconographies and narratives. His Superfictions therefore materialize into films, publications, backlit animated panels, installations and performative conferences. The science fiction aesthetics is a way to shed light on reality and its inner workings.

Six chapters have already been produced by the artist, from Brussels to Rio de Janeiro, all of them being interrelated. At the same time obsessive, grandiose and ironic, these fictional portraits include different perspectives that grasp the historical, social, media-related political and religious identity of a territory. By calling upon collective imagination, the artist reveals the impact that fictions of various kinds have on the development of civilization and how a collective understanding of nations and cities is created.

At the Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève, Guerreiro do Divino Amor presents for the first time all existing Superfictions, turning the institution into a superfictional sanctuary. Moving image works are presented within installations including large-scale backlit panels and sculptures. The Miracle of Helvetia is the central work of the exhibition, taking up three rooms in an immersive temple-like construction.

Guerreiro do Divino Amor (b. 1983, Geneva) lives and works in Rio de Janeiro. He holds a master’s degree in architecture. He has participated in the Sorocaba Frestas Trienal and in exhibitions at Iberê Camargo Foundation, Pinacoteca of São Paulo, Casa França-Brasil, MAR, CAC of Vilnius (Lithuania) and Arte Pará 2018. Also in 2018, he held the individual exhibition “Superficções” at Paço das Artes/MIS-SP. He is currently a fellow of the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin program.

Superfictional Sanctuaries is curated by Andrea Bellini and benefits from the support of the Loterie Romande, Embassy of Foreign Artists and DAAD. A publication has been produced for the occasion with the support of DAAD Artists in Berlin program with funds from the German Federal Foreign Office.

COVER IMAGE: Guerreiro do Divino Amor, Supercarioca Superfictional Cosmogony, 2016 (detail). Backlight panel with LED moving light system, 200 x 100 cm, wood and acrylic structure, LED and mechanic light system. Courtesy of the artist.

With the support of

Sponsors

Sponsors

Sponsors

Sponsors

Sponsors

Sponsors

Visit the 5th floor
Visit the 5th floor The virtual exhibition space of the Centre

Visit the 5th floor
The virtual exhibition space of the Centre

Visit the 5th floor
The virtual exhibition space of the Centre

Your Cart

Archive

Guerreiro do Divino Amor

Guerreiro do Divino Amor
Superfictional Sanctuaries


Le Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève a le plaisir de présenter Superfictional Sanctuaries, la première rétrospective de l’artiste helvético-brésilien Guerreiro do Divino Amor.

L’exposition montre en avant-première Le Miracle d’Helvetia, une œuvre commissionnée par le Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève, avec le soutien de l’Embassy of Foreign Artists (EOFA) et du programme DAAD Artists-in-Berlin. Sixième et dernier chapitre du projet de recherche en cours de l’artiste, Superfictions, Le Miracle d’Helvetia explore les composantes de l’imaginaire collectif et de l’identité nationale suisse.

La saga Superfictions débute à Bruxelles en 2005, avec le souhait de créer un « Atlas Mondial Superfictionnel ». Le processus de recherche de l’artiste commence généralement sur le lieu même qui deviendra son sujet. Guerreiro do Divino Amor combine sa propre expérience avec l’archéologie numérique, fouillant et se réappropriant les iconographies et les récits institutionnels corporatifs. Ses Superfictions se matérialisent donc en films, publications, panneaux animés rétroéclairés, installations et conférences performatives. L’esthétique de la science-fiction est un moyen de mettre en lumière la réalité et ses rouages internes.

Six chapitres – tous interconnectés – ont déjà été produits par l’artiste, de Bruxelles à Rio de Janeiro. À la fois obsédant, grandioses et ironiques, ces portraits fictionnels incluent différentes perspectives qui parviennent à saisir l’identité historique, sociale, médiatico-politique et religieuse d’un territoire. En faisant appel à l’imaginaire collectif, l’artiste révèle l’impact que les fictions de toutes sortes ont sur le développement de la civilisation, et comment se crée une compréhension collective des nations et des villes.

Au Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève, Guerreiro do Divino Amor présente pour la première fois toutes ses Superficitions, et transforme ainsi l’institution en sanctuaire superfictionnel. Les œuvres d’images en mouvement sont intégrées dans des installations comprenant des panneaux rétroéclairés à grande échelle et des sculptures. Le Miracle d’Helvetia, œuvre centrale de l’exposition, occupe trois salles dans une construction immersive en forme de temple.

Guerreiro do Divino Amor (*1983, Genève) vit et travaille à Rio de Janeiro. Il est titulaire d’une maîtrise en architecture. Il a participé à la triennale Frestas de Sorocaba et à des expositions à la Fondation Iberê Camargo, à la Pinacothèque de São Paulo, à la Casa França-Brasil, au MAR, au CAC de Vilnius (Lituanie) et à Arte Pará 2018. La même année, il a présenté l’exposition individuelle « Superficções » au Paço das Artes/MIS-SP. Il est actuellement boursier du programme DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Program.

Superfictional Sanctuaries est une exposition proposée par Andrea Bellini, qui bénéficie du soutien de la Loterie Romande, de l’Embassy of Foreign Artists et DAAD Artists-in-Berlin. Une publication est produite à l’occasion avec DAAD, avec le soutien du Bureau fédéral des affaires étrangères d’Allemagne.

COVER IMAGE: Guerreiro do Divino Amor, Supercarioca Superfictional Cosmogony, 2016 (détail). Panneau avec système d’éclairage mobile à LED, 200 x 100 cm, structure en bois et acrylique, système d’éclairage à LED et mécanique. Courtesy de l’artiste

Avec le soutien de

Sponsors

Sponsors

Sponsors

Sponsors

Sponsors

Sponsors

Sponsors

Visiter le 5e étage
Visiter le 5e étage L’espace d’exposition virtuel du Centre

Visiter le 5e étage
L’espace d’exposition virtuel du Centre

Visiter le 5e étage
L’espace d’exposition virtuel du Centre

Votre panier