Archive

Hannah Weinberger

Hannah Weinberger
we didn’t want to leave


The Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève is pleased to present a series of new works by Hannah Weinberger in a major solo exhibition. The Swiss artist is the winner of the 2018 Swiss Emerging Artist Prize of Societe Generale Private Banking Switzerland.

Collaboration and participation are the hallmarks of Hannah Weinberger’s artistic practice. Her works rely on the potential of sound and the characteristics of the spaces invested to foster collective gatherings or endow spectators with a performative role. This offers them a central role in the experience. The background noises caught red-handed, the atmospheric buzzes of social life, and the synthetic percussive rhythms generated by moving crowds often constitute the preface of Weinberger’s pieces. Her sound compositions streamline social cacophony into minimal soundtracks, free of dramatic crescendos, referential tempos, or algorithmic prowess.

Weinberger’s first sound creations involved many contributors. More recently, it is the visitors themselves who, by their very presence, contribute to the activation of her works. Behind the artist’s apparent economy of means and immaculate spaces lies a careful study of the spaces and complex technical devices. Her discreet interventions transform the exhibition space into a genuine experimental platform, allowing the public to shape its own environment: a tailor-made experience within a work in constant evolution.
As they enter the Centre’s spaces, the spectators, like musicians, activate and orchestrate the exhibition, which is titled we didn’t want to leave. In order to offer the visitor a unique and ephemeral immersive experience, the artist engaged in extensive technical research with experts to develop a mechanism that is barely perceptible, despite its complexity. Rather than offering the audience a journey with a final destination, Hannah Weinberger seeks to place it in a form of full awareness of the moment and the present space. we didn’t want to leave evokes this sound flow in movement, in the grip of everyone’s drift. Spectators can stop, observe, or simply let themselves be carried away by the waves they generate. The visitors’ movements and interactions will be the driving force of the project.

Hannah Weinberger is a Swiss artist born in 1988. She lives and works in Basel and holds a master’s degree in visual arts from the University of Fine Arts in Zurich. She has presented solo exhibitions at the Kunstverein Braunschweig; the Badischer Kunstverein, Karlsruhe; the Schinkel Pavillon, Berlin; Kunstverein Harburger Bahnhof, Hamburg; Kunsthaus Bregenz; MIT List Center for Visual Arts, Cambridge, MA; FriArt, Fribourg; the Swiss Institute, New York; and the Kunsthalle Basel, among others. Her work has also been presented internationally at: Vleeshal Middleburg; Musée Espace Arlaud, Lausanne; Okayama Art Summit; Manifesta 11; Astrup Fearnley Museum of Modern Art, Oslo; Migros Museum of Contemporary Art, Zurich; the Lyon Biennale; the Stedelijk Museum Amsterdam; the Institute of Contemporary Art, Philadelphia; Kunsthal Charlottenborg, Copenhagen; Kunstverein München, Munich; and Kunsthaus Glarus. Her work was awarded a Swiss Art Award in June 2019; she was also awarded the Georg and Josi Guggenheim Prize in 2016 and the first Swiss Emerging Artist Prize in 2018.

This exhibition is produced with the support of Societe Generale Private Banking Switzerland as main partner.


With the support of

Sponsors

Sponsors

Sponsors

Sponsors

Sponsors

Sponsors

Sponsors

Sponsors

Sponsors

Sponsors

Visit the 5th floor

Visit the 5th floor
The virtual exhibition space of the Centre

Visit the 5th floor
The virtual exhibition space of the Centre

Your Cart

Archive

Hannah Weinberger

Hannah Weinberger
we didn’t want to leave


Le Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève est heureux de présenter les œuvres inédites d’Hannah Weinberger dans une exposition monographique d’envergure. Artiste suisse, elle est lauréate du Swiss Emerging Artist Prize 2018 de Société Générale Private Banking Suisse.

La collaboration et la participation constituent le fondement de la pratique artistique d’Hannah Weinberger. Elle s’appuie sur le potentiel du son et les caractéristiques des espaces investis pour favoriser des rassemblements collectifs ou donner à chaque spectateur·trice un rôle performatif et le.la placer au cœur de ses œuvres. Les bruits de fond pris sur le vif, les bourdonnements atmosphériques de la vie sociale, les rythmes percussifs synthétiques générés par les foules en mouvement constituent souvent les prémices de ses pièces. Ses compositions sonores chorégraphient la cacophonie sociale en des bandes sonores minimales, libérées des crescendos dramatiques, des tempos référentiels ou des prouesses algorithmiques.

Les premières créations sonores de Weinberger associaient un grand nombre de contributeurs. Plus récemment, ce sont les visiteur·se·s qui, par leur présence même, contribuent à activer ses œuvres. Derrière l’apparente économie de moyens et les espaces immaculés de Weinberger se cachent une étude attentive des lieux et des dispositifs techniques complexes. Les discrètes interventions de l’artiste transforment le champ de l’exposition en véritable plateforme expérimentale, permettant au public de façonner son propre environnement ; une expérience sur mesure au sein d’une œuvre en perpétuelle mutation.

En pénétrant dans les espaces du Centre, les spectateur·trice·s, tel·le·s des musicien·ne·s, activent et orchestrent l’exposition intitulée we didn’t want to leave. Afin d’offrir au·à la visiteur·se une expérience immersive unique et éphémère, l’artiste a engagé avec des expert·e·s des recherches techniques approfondies pour développer un mécanisme à peine perceptible, malgré sa complexité. Plutôt que de proposer au public un parcours avec une destination finale, Hannah Weinberger cherche à le placer dans une forme de pleine conscience du moment et de l’espace présent. we didn’t want to leave (nous ne voulions pas partir), le titre de l’exposition, évoque ce flux sonore en mouvement, forgé par la dérive de chacun·e. Spectatrices et spectateurs peuvent s’arrêter, observer ou simplement se laisser porter par les ondes qu’ils génèrent. Les déplacements et interactions du public seront en effet les moteurs du projet.

Hannah Weinberger est une artiste suisse née en 1988. Elle vit et travaille à Bâle et est titulaire d’une maîtrise en arts visuels de l’Université des Beaux-Arts de Zurich. Elle a présenté des expositions personnelles au Kunstverein Braunschweig ; Badischer Kunstverein, Karlsruhe ; Schinkel Pavillon, Berlin ; Kunstverein Harburger Bahnhof, Hambourg ; Kunsthaus Bregenz, MIT List Center for Visual Arts, Cambridge ; FriArt, Fribourg ; Swiss Institute, New York ; Kunsthalle Basel, entre autres. Son travail a également été présenté à l’international dans des lieux tels que : Vleeshal, Middleburg, Musée Arlaud, Okayama Art Summit, Manifesta 11, Astrup Fearnley Museum, Oslo, Migros Museum of Art, Zurich, la Biennale de Lyon, Stedelijk Amsterdam, ICA Philadelphie, Kunsthal Charlottenborg, Kunstverein Munich et Kunsthaus Glarus. Sa démarche a été récompensée par un Swiss Art Award en juin 2019, elle a également été lauréate du premier Swiss Emerging Artist Prize en 2018 et du Prix Georg et Josi Guggenheim en 2016.

Cette exposition est produite avec le concours de Société Générale Private Banking Suisse, partenaire principal.


Avec le soutien de

Sponsors

Sponsors

Sponsors

Sponsors

Sponsors

Sponsors

Sponsors

Sponsors

Sponsors

Sponsors

Sponsors

Sponsors

Visiter le 5e étage

Visiter le 5e étage
L’espace d’exposition virtuel du Centre

Visiter le 5e étage
L’espace d’exposition virtuel du Centre

Votre panier