Archive



Rosa Brux – West Coast Sisters

Rosa Brux
West Coast Sisters


Facing the segregation that took place at the hands of the American cultural authorities in the 1980s , the collective Group Material chose to use the format of the exhibition as a means of protest. Their exhibitions have brought together a wide range of practices, ethnic groups and sexual orientations, overthrowing art community hierarchies and the domination exercised by a white, male, and heteronormative American culture. Drawing freely from the strategies elaborated by Group Material, Rosa Brux proposes a critical and personal exhibition of the MLF (Women’s liberation movement) of Geneva through a corpus of documents preserved essentially at the Archives contestataires.

Through the diversity of its demands and its means of action (self-defense courses, self-help training offering women the possibility of examining their own bodies, remuneration for domestic work, self-management of a place allowing women to discuss freely, free abortion, recognition of the rights of lesbians in all countries, etc.) the WLM (Women’s Liberation Movement) of Geneva brought together a multiplicity of reformist and radical groups. Contrary to a hegemonic vision of this movement, the exhibition attempts to present the modes of organization of women united by struggles, feelings, activities that are also conducive to conflicts and even misunderstandings. The
content of the claims remains as present as ever.

As an extension of the exhibition, the space usually dedicated to artists in residence hosts learning workshops open to women that contribute, through the sharing of knowledge, to a form of self-care.

Gathered at its beginnings around a self-managed exhibition space that addressed social and political subjects, Rosa Brux evolved as an autonomous collective. By bringing together groups involved in fields as varied as activism, memory practices and law, Rosa Brux wishes to contribute through its actions to the emergence of transversal movements that experiment with possible alternatives to institutional criticism.

Visit the 5th floor
The digital space of the Center d’Art Contemporain Geneva
Visit the 5th floor
The digital space of the Center d’Art Contemporain Geneva
Your Cart

Archive



Rosa Brux – West Coast Sisters

Rosa Brux
West Coast Sisters


Pour faire face aux ségrégations opérées dans les années 1980 par les autorités culturelles américaines, le collectif Group Material faisait le choix d’employer le format de l’exposition comme moyen de revendication. Leurs expositions regroupaient une variété de pratiques, de groupes ethniques, et d’orientations sexuelles, tentant d’abolir les hiérarchies du milieu de l’art et la domination exercée par une culture américaine blanche, masculine et hétéronormée. Puisant librement dans les stratégies élaborées par Group Material, Rosa Brux propose une exposition critique et personnelle du MLF (Mouvement de libération des femmes) de Genève à travers un corpus de documents conservés essentiellement aux Archives contestataires.

Par la diversité de ses revendications et ses moyens d’action (cours d’autodéfenses, apprentissage de self-help offrant aux femmes la possibilité d’examiner leur propre corps, rémunération du travail ménager, autogestion d’un lieu permettant aux femmes de discuter librement, avortement libre, reconnaissance des droits des lesbiennes de tous les pays, etc.) le MLF de Genève, rassembla une multiplicité de groupes réformistes et radicaux. À l’inverse d’une vision hégémonique de ce mouvement, l’exposition tente de présenter les modes d’organisation de femmes réunies par des luttes, des sentiments, des activités qui sont aussi propices aux conflits voire aux incompréhensions. La teneur des revendications demeure quant à elle toujours aussi présente.

Dans le prolongement de l’exposition, l’espace habituellement dédié aux résident·e·s accueille des ateliers d’apprentissage ouverts aux femmes qui contribuent, par le partage des savoirs, à une forme d’autonomie des soins.

Réuni à ses débuts autour d’un lieu d’exposition autogéré qui abordait des sujets sociaux et politiques, Rosa Brux a évolué en tant que collectif autonome. En fédérant des groupes investis dans des domaines aussi variés que le militantisme, les pratiques mémorielles ou le droit, Rosa Brux souhaite contribuer par ses actions à l’émergence de mouvements transversaux qui expérimentent des alternatives possibles à la critique institutionnelle.

Visiter le 5e étage

Visiter le 5e étage
L’espace d’exposition virtuel du Centre

Visiter le 5e étage
L’espace d’exposition virtuel du Centre

Votre panier