Archive

Daniel Weintraub

By repetition, you start noticing details in the landscape

Encounter with Daniel Weintraub (US) and screening of Deep listening : The Story of Pauline Oliveros, 2019


By repetition, you start noticing details in the landscape will take place from the 14th of December 2019 to the 19th of January 2020 at Le Commun (BAC) exhibition space in Geneva. With the exceptional participation of the American Composer Terry Riley , this interdisciplinary project presents artworks, films and archives of close to fifty artists from the 1960s to present day, gathered around questions of landscape, repetition and community.

Echoing the exhibition the Cinema Dynamo at the Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève will host a selection of films between essays and archives, experimental documentaries and artists’ films, that review various ways of exploring, through cinema, the history of music and of listening. The program blends historical films (conversations of composer Robert Ashley with his peers Terry Riley and Pauline Oliveros in Music with Roots in the Aether, 1976) with contemporary ones (with the presentation of original excerpts of Daniel Weintraub’s ongoing film, Deep Listening: The Story of Pauline Oliveros). In each of his films, the documentary and experiential dimensions meet, turning the act of listening into a way of immersing oneself in the matter and in history, and of blending together reality and imagination, information and sensation.

By repetition, you start noticing details in the landscape a proposal by MMMMM

Deep Listening: The Story of Pauline Oliveros tells the story of the iconic composer, performer, teacher, philosopher, technological innovator and humanitarian, Pauline Oliveros. She was one of the world’s original electronic musicians, the only female amongst notable post-war American composers, a master accordion player, a teacher and mentor to musicians, a gateway to music and sound for non-musicians and a technical innovator who helped develop everything from tools that allow musicians to play together while in different countries to software that enables those with severe disabilities to create beautiful music. Director Daniel Weintraub will be screening a world premiere of excerpts from the film centered on Pauline’s early career in San Francisco in the 1950’s and 1960’s.

Credits:
Written, Directed and Edited by Daniel Weintraub
Executive Producers – Pauline Oliveros and IONE
Permissions Courtesy of The Pauline Oliveros Trust and The Ministry of Maåt, Inc.
Members ASCAP

Visit the 5th floor

Visit the 5th floor
The virtual exhibition space of the Centre

Visit the 5th floor
The virtual exhibition space of the Centre

Your Cart

Archive



Daniel Weintraub

By repetition, you start noticing details in the landscape

Rencontre avec Daniel Weintraub (US) et projection de Deep listening : The Story of Pauline Oliveros, 2019


By repetition, you start noticing details in the landscape a lieu du 14 décembre 2019 au 19 janvier 2020 dans l’espace d’exposition du Commun (BAC) à Genève. Accueillant la participation exceptionnelle du compositeur américain Terry Riley, ce projet interdisciplinaire présente les œuvres, les films et les archives de près de cinquante artistes des années 1960 à nos jours, rassemblés autour des questions de paysage, de répétition et de communauté.

En écho à l’exposition, le Cinema Dynamo du Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève accueille un programme de films entre essais et archives, documentaires expérimentaux et films d’artistes parcourant diverses manières d’explorer, avec les moyens du cinéma, les histoires de la musique et de l’écoute. Le programme associe films historiques (les conversations du compositeur Robert Ashley avec ses pairs Terry Riley et Pauline Oliveros dans Music with Roots in the Aether, de 1976) et contemporains (avec la présentation d’extraits inédits du film en cours de Daniel Weintraub, Deep Listening: The Story of Pauline Oliveros). Dans chacun de ses films, la dimension documentaire rencontre celle de l’expérience, faisant de l’écoute une manière de s’immerger dans le sujet et l’histoire, de faire se fondre réalité et imaginaire, information et sensation.

By repetition, you start noticing details in the landscape est une proposition de MMMMM

Deep Listening: The Story of Pauline Oliveros raconte l’histoire de la compositrice, performeuse, pédagogue, philosophe, innovatrice technologique et humanitaire, Pauline Oliveros. Authentique pionnière de la musique électronique, l’une des seules figures féminines dans le champ de la musique contemporaine américaine d’après-guerre, accordéoniste émérite, enseignante et mentor de nombreux musicien.ne.s, initiatrice à la musique et au son pour les non-musicien.e.s, et innovatrice technique qui a aidé à développer des outils permettant aux musicien.e.s de jouer ensemble à distance, jusqu’au logiciel permettant aux personnes en situation de handicap de créer une musique magnifique. Le réalisateur Daniel Weintraub présente en première mondiale des extraits de son film, centrés sur le début de la carrière de Pauline à San Francisco au cours des années 1950 et 1960.

Crédits :
Écrit, dirigé et édité par Daniel Weintraub
Productrices exécutives – Pauline Oliveros et IONE
Permissions Courtesy of The Pauline Oliveros Trust and The Ministry of Maåt, Inc.
Members ASCAP

Visiter le 5e étage

Visiter le 5e étage
L’espace d’exposition virtuel du Centre

Visiter le 5e étage
L’espace d’exposition virtuel du Centre

Votre panier