Archive

Ingo Nierman

Alexa Karolinski & Ingo Niermann
Oceano de amor
Army of Love


Parallel to Hannah Weinberger’s solo exhibition we didn’t want to leave, the Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève presents the film Oceano de Amor (HD, 95 min, 2019) by Alexa Karolinski and Ingo Niermann, for which Hannah Weinberger created an exclusive sound piece. This docu-fiction produced in Cuba portrays ten volunteer members of the Army carrying out daily routines while answering questions about love and labour. Here, in one of the few remaining socialist countries, the members of the Army of Love describe an automated future in which distributing love will be the only form of work. Together they imagine a society in which everyone can give and receive love according to their needs, regardless of whether their bodies conform to orthodox canons of desirability and beauty.
Supported by Robot Love, a project of the Niet Normaal Foundation; Castello di Rivoli – Museo d’Arte Contemporanea; Museo Nacional de Bellas Artes de Cuba; Fachausschuss Film und Medienkunst Basel-Stadt / Basel-Landschaft.

Army of Love (HD, 40 min, 2016), a second film by Alexa Karolinski and Ingo Niermann, will be screened alongside Oceano de Amor. This acclaimed film, commissioned and co-produced by the 9th Berlin Biennale for Contemporary Art, investigates how romantic love is nowadays saturated with commodification. The socialistic premise behind “free love” crumbles when desiring competition gets in the way, and in the age of hook-up apps, the possibility of free sex represents the liberalization, not the liberation, of love. Army of Love introduces a propositional regiment of soldiers diverse in age and appearance and tasked with solving the persistent social malaise of dire loneliness.
Commissioned and co-produced by the 9th Berlin Biennale for Contemporary Art With additional support by Wiesbaden Biennale and Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona.

Visit the 5th floor

Visit the 5th floor
The virtual exhibition space of the Centre

Visit the 5th floor
The virtual exhibition space of the Centre

Your Cart

Archive

Ingo Nierman

Alexa Karolinski & Ingo Niermann
Oceano de amor
Army of Love


Parallèlement à we didn’t want to leave, l’exposition personnelle d’Hannah Weinberger, le Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève présente le film Oceano de Amor (HD, 95 min, 2019) d’Alexa Karolinski et Ingo Niermann, pour lequel Hannah Weinberger a créé la musique. Ce docu-fiction produit à Cuba dépeint dix membres bénévoles de l’armée qui répondent sur l’amour et le travail tout en étant affairés à leurs tâches quotidiennes. Dans l’un des derniers pays socialistes, les membres de l’Army of Love décrivent un avenir automatisé où la distribution d’amour serait la seule forme de travail. Ensemble, ils imaginent une société dans laquelle chacun peut donner et recevoir de l’amour selon ses besoins, que son corps soit conforme ou non aux canons du désir et de la beauté.
Soutenu par Robot Love, un projet de la Fondation Niet Normaal ; Castello di Rivoli – Museo d’Arte Contemporanea ; Museo Nacional de Bellas Artes de Cuba ; Fachausschuss Film und Medienkunst Basel-Stadt / Basel-Landschaft.

Army of Love (HD, 40 min, 2016), un second film d’Alexa Karolinski et Ingo Niermann, sera projeté aux côtés de Oceano de Amor. Ce film salué par la critique, commandé et coproduit par la 9e Biennale d’art contemporain de Berlin, examine comment l’amour romantique est aujourd’hui dominé par la marchandisation. La prémisse socialiste de l’amour libre s’effondre quand la concurrence se met en travers de son chemin, et à l’ère des applications de rencontre, l’idée de sexe libre représente la libéralisation, et non la libération, de l’amour. Army of Love présente un régiment propositionnel de soldats d’âge et d’apparence diverses, chargés de résoudre le malaise social persistant induit par la solitude extrême.
Commande et coproduction de la 9e Biennale d’art contemporain de Berlin avec le soutien de la Biennale de Wiesbaden et du Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona.

Visiter le 5e étage

Visiter le 5e étage
L’espace d’exposition virtuel du Centre

Visiter le 5e étage
L’espace d’exposition virtuel du Centre

Votre panier