From Concrete to Liquid to Spoken Worlds to the Word

31.05 — 27.08.17

Opening: May 30th, 2017, 18-21h

 

Conceived by Andrea Bellini in collaboration with Mathieu Copeland and Karl Holmqvist, with the assistance of Ambroise Barras, Vincent Barras, Gigiotto Del Vecchio, Carla Demierre, Invernomuto, Ceel Mogami de Haas (one gee in fog) and Steve Roggenbuck.

Featuring Henri Chopin, Karl Holmqvist, D.A. Levy, Dom Sylvester Houédard, as well as Tomomi Adachi, Marc Adrian, Pierre Alferi, Mary Boo Anderson, Fia Backström, Walter Davis, Danielle Dean, Alli Simone DeFeo, Sebastian Dicenaire, Pancho Espinosa, Giovanni Fontana, Gilles Furtwängler, Jérôme Game, James Ganas, Michel Giroud, Mira Gonzalez, @Horse_Ebooks, Sophia Le Fraga, Anne Le Troter, Elizabeth Lebon, Patricia Lockwood, Chris Mann, Andrea Marioni, Memeoji, Becket Mingwen, Joachim Montessuis, @RealAvocadoFact, Cia Rinne, Sébastien Roux, Marie-Luce Ruffieux, Julie Sas, Lucy K Shaw, Orion Scohy, August Smith, Cally Spooner, Rain Terranova (Gangster Popeye), Jamey Strathman, Nora Turato, Laura Vazquez.

From Concrete to Liquid to Spoken Worlds to the Word explores the emancipation of language through historical and contemporary positions, from the earliest typographic and sound works of concrete poets to poetic experiments in the digital era. This diverse exhibition is accompanied by a series of readings, performances and screenings that reveal the porosity between art and poetry.

The Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève is pleased to present a major project dedicated to contemporary poetry and its various modes of dialogue within the visual culture of our era. The goal of this complex exhibition program is to highlight how in recent years, contemporary art has begun to show a revived and growing interest in the world of poetry and the written and spoken word. Poetry readings and recitals in museums, performances centered on the importance of the text and its recitation, videos where poetic language takes on a role that rivals the visual component: the art of our time appears to be deeply and intimately rooted in words. Just when its fate seemed sealed for good in this chaotic and (seemingly) aphonic civilization of images, the word has returned to the fore among young artists and the viewing public.

The Centre’s program, while tracing this link between word and image to the concrete poetry of the 1960s and ‘70s, will try on the one hand to examine this renewed artistic interest in the word, and on the other to show how the web and social media are introducing new ways of making poetry. The underlying aim is to explore how art and poetry shape each other in an increasingly interconnected world, through ongoing, rhapsodic communication. The “poetic acts” we will be exploring do not even seem like “works of poetry” in the classic sense, since they include a mosaic of texts drawn from videos, performances, and songs, as well as quotes and phrases from the web and its social networks. Social media are turning even the poetic experience into a widespread, everyday social activity that is fragmentary and non-hierarchical. In conclusion, we will look at how younger artists are showing a fresh interest in bringing words back from their digital, liquid dimension and giving them a more concrete, tangible form. With this in mind, Karl Holmqvist has been invited to conceive a platform/space in which words will function like a vast stage set.

Henri Chopin, D.A. Levy and Dom Sylvester Houédard

The exhibition program includes a retrospective, on the third floor, of a key neo-avant-garde figure and pioneer of sound poetry and concrete poetry, Henri Chopin (1922-2008); it will feature more than 80 works, including dactylopoèmes, two films, and a sizeable collection of archival documents.  Chopin was a poet, painter, filmmaker, independent publisher, and cultural organizer who in the 1950s began using early recording systems to produce a wide range of works based on the manipulation of the human voice, some of which will be shown on the fourth floor.

The Centre is very happy to present, on this same floor, the first exhibition in Europe centered on D.A. Levy (1942-1968), one of the most mysterious, unconventional characters in American culture, who committed suicide at the age of 26. A radical figure, impossible to pin down, Levy can be considered a book artist: he always wrote poetry with the book-as-object in mind, to the degree that his works are considered forerunners of zines, that is, self-produced publications printed using an ordinary photocopier and circulated on a small scale.

The third historical show focuses on another legendary name in concrete poetry, Dom Sylvester Houédard (1924-1992). A Benedictine priest, theologian, and spy for the British army, “dsh” was not just an extraordinary concrete poet, but envisioned a new approach to spirituality, philosophy, and art. His many collaborative undertakings include projects with Gustav Metzger, Yoko Ono, and John Cage.

 

Spoken Worlds to the Word and Word Squares, a solo show by Karl Holmqvist

While the third and fourth floors are dedicated to concrete poetry, that is, poetry that creates typographical effects on the page, the second floor of the Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève will host a project titled Spoken Worlds to the Word and a solo exhibition by Karl Holmqvist called Word Squares. A considerable portion of this exhibition will be dedicated to performances and readings of poetry and literary texts, featuring artists like Karl Homlqvist himself, Cally Spooner, Giovanni Fontana, Vincent Barras, Elizabeth Lebon, Orion Scohy, Laura Vazquez, Sebastain Dicenaire, Anne Le Troter, Cia Rinne, Tomomi Adachi or Chris Mann.

On the second floor, the duo Invernomuto will also present a musical overview – I Lick Chopin – of authors whose lyrics give a prime role to the spoken word and the recorded word, aware or not aware of Chopin’s research into the “new word”. The program will include a variety of artists including Ben Patterson, King Tubby, Rp Boo, Dennis Tyfus, Halim El-Dabh, Rammelzee, Napalm Death, PNL and many more.

 

Cinema Dynamo

What happens when a poet starts making YouTube videos or animated GIFs? The Internet provides its own equivalents to traditional poetic forms such as sonnets and the haiku—Twitter's 140 characters of text, Instagram's square images and short video clips, and the impermanent "stories" made popular by Snapchat and later added to other platforms. This new selection of Internet-based poetry, curated by Steve Roggenbuck, reminds us that just as language is everywhere, poetry can be everywhere. Various projects brought together by Carla Demierre and Ceel Mogami de Haas (one gee in fog) will be screened parallel to this selection.

This ambitious exhibition is accompanied by a series of readings and performances and will take over all of the Centre's spaces, from the exhibition rooms to the Cinema Dynamo, from the staff offices to the bookshop, which will host a selection of books on concrete, conceptual and post-internet poetry from Abstract Editions, Black Ocean, Canarium Books, Contrat Maint, Futurepoem Books and Héros Limite.

The project From Concrete to Liquid to Spoken Worlds to The Word is produced by Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève and based on a concept by Andrea Bellini, who will curate the exhibitions on Henri Chopin, D. A. Levy and Dom Sylvester Houédard, and co-curate the second-floor project and parallel programming in collaboration with Mathieu Copeland.

 

Interventions Program

 

Tuesday 30 May 2017

From Concrete to Liquid to spoken Worlds to the Word

Henri Chopin, Karl Holmqvist, D. A. Levy et Dom Sylvester Houédard

 

18.00-21.00
Vernissage of the exhibition, Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève

19.00
Word Squares, Performance by Karl Holmqvist, 2nd floor

21.00-04.00
La Gravière: Party with Palm Wine, Jim C Nedd, Pit, Gigiotto del Vecchio

 

Friday 2, Saturday 3
& Friday 9 June, 2017

3+1

Proposed by Carla Demierre and Vincent Barras

3+1 evenings to explore practices around the word at the crossroads of art, poetry and music. Conceived as a micro festival of readings and performances, the evenings of 3+1 will propose two programs, designed respectively by Carla Demierre and Vincent Barras. As a festival in two stages, the 3+1 evenings produce in stereophony a sensitive landscape of textual and linguistic practices after Chopin and will bring together several generations of artists, poets and musicians. This program will continue during a 4th evening at @PTT (147, Route de Chêne, Chêne-Bougeries) with readings, poetic and sound proposals by Cléa Chopard, Rudy Decelière Carla Demierre, Berclaz de Sierre, Jérémie Gindre, Noemi Lapzeson, Louis Schild and Thibault Walter.

Friday 2 June, 19.00
Interventions by Sebastian Dicenaire, Andrea Marioni, Elizabeth Noble, Cia Rinne

Saturday 3 June, 19.00
Interventions by Gilles Furtwängler, Anne Le Troter, Marie-Luce Ruffieux, Orion Scohy, Laura Vazquez

Friday 9 June, 19.00
Interventions by Tomomo Adashi, Vincent Barras, Giovanni Fontana, Chris Mann

 

Friday 16 June 2017

Action-poésie

Proposed by Michel Giroud in collaboration with Joachim Montessius

Close to Henri Chopin, all-rounder writer (oral painter and cutter in zigzags and performer of gestures, voices, sounds, words, drawings, images, photos and videos). Michel Giroud (aka Gerwulf and el coyote) offers a two-act conference and performance/action.

19.00

Conference action in two acts in homage to Henri Chopin
Actionvoixélectronique by Joachim Montessuis
Transe collective IAM by Montessuis/Gerwulf

 

SAVE THE DATE

Opening: May 30th, 2017, 18-21h

Exhibition: 31.05 — 27.08.17

 

Download the press-release

 

 
Subventionné par la Ville de Genève

From Concrete to Liquid to Spoken Worlds to the Word

31.05 — 27.08.17

Vernissage: le 30 mai 2017, 18-21h

 

Une proposition d’Andrea Bellini, réalisée avec la complicité d’Ambroise Barras, Vincent Barras, Mathieu Copeland, Gigiotto Del Vecchio, Carla Demierre, Karl Holmqvist, Invernomuto, Ceel Mogami de Haas (one gee in fog) et Steve Roggenbuck.

Avec Henri Chopin, Karl Holmqvist, D.A. Levy, Dom Sylvester Houédard, ainsi que Tomomi Adachi, Marc Adrian, Pierre Alferi, Mary Boo Anderson, Mary Boo Anderson, Fia Backström, Walter Davis, Danielle Dean, Alli Simone DeFeo, Sebastian Dicenaire, Pancho Espinosa, Giovanni Fontana, Gilles Furtwängler, Jérôme Game, James Ganas, Michel Giroud, Mira Gonzalez, @Horse_Ebooks, Sophia Le Fraga, Anne Le Troter, Elizabeth Lebon, Patricia Lockwood, Chris Mann, Andrea Marioni, Memeoji, Becket Mingwen, Joachim Montessuis, @RealAvocadoFact, Cia Rinne, Sébastien Roux, Marie-Luce Ruffieux, Julie Sas, Lucy K Shaw, Orion Scohy, August Smith, Cally Spooner, Rain Terranova (Gangster Popeye), Jamey Strathman, Nora Turato, Laura Vazquez.

From Concrete to Liquid to Spoken Worlds to the Word explore l’émancipation du langage au travers de positions historiques et contemporaines, depuis les premières œuvres typographiques et sonores des poètes concrets, jusqu’aux expérimentations poétiques à l’ère numérique. Cette exposition protéiforme s’accompagne d’une série de lectures, performances et projections qui révèlent l’actuelle porosité entre l’art et la poésie.

Le Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève a le plaisir de présenter un grand projet consacré à la poésie contemporaine et aux rapports qu’elle entretient avec la culture visuelle de notre temps. L’objectif de ce parcours d’expositions et d’évènements est de montrer comment, au cours de ces dernières années, l’art contemporain s’est de nouveau intéressé au monde de la poésie et de la parole, écrite et parlée. Lectures et déclamations poétiques dans les musées, performances centrées sur le texte oralisé, vidéos dans lesquelles le langage poétique l’emporte sur la composante visuelle : l’art contemporain semble inondé par le langage et y est intimement lié. Au moment précis où son destin semblait scellé dans le chaos d’une civilisation de l’image – en apparence – aphone, le langage suscite un intérêt renouvelé chez les jeunes artistes et le public

En revenant à la poésie concrète des années 1960 et 1970 comme fondement de ce rapport langage-image, l’exposition rend compte de ce regain d’intérêt de l’art pour le mot, et montre de quelle façon l’acte poétique se transforme au contact d’internet et des réseaux sociaux. Le propos est de donner à voir comment l’art et la poésie interagissent et se transforment dans un monde toujours plus connecté, dans le contexte d’une communication constante et pour ainsi dire rhapsodique. Les «gestes poétiques» explorés ne sont pas des «œuvres poétiques» au sens classique du terme, ils regroupent des fragments de textes extraits de vidéos, de performances, de morceaux de musique, de citations et de phrases trouvées sur le web et les réseaux sociaux. Ces médias sociaux transforment l’expérience poétique en acte social quotidien, diffus, fragmentaire et non-hiérarchisé. Enfin, l’exposition révèle la volonté de jeunes artistes de ramener la parole numérique, en tant que composante « liquide », vers quelque chose de plus concret, de plus tangible. L’artiste allemand Karl Holmqvist, figure de la rencontre entre les milieux textuels et visuels, a été invité à concevoir un espace/plateforme où les mots seront mis en scène.

 

Henri Chopin, D.A. Levy et Dom Sylvester Houédard

Ce projet comprend la rétrospective d’une figure majeure des néo-avant-gardes historiques, pionnier de la poésie sonore et concrète, Henri Chopin (1922-2008), avec plus de 80 œuvres présentées au troisième étage: dactylopoèmes, films et une vaste collection de documents d’archive. Poète, peintre, réalisateur, éditeur indépendant et acteur de la vie culturelle, Chopin a eu recours, dès les années 1950, aux tout premiers systèmes d’enregistrement pour produire une série d’œuvres fondées sur la manipulation de la voix humaine, dont quelques-unes sont présentées au quatrième étage.

Le Centre est également très heureux de présenter la première exposition européenne de D.A. Levy (1942-1968), l’une des figures les plus mystérieuses et anticonformistes de la scène culturelle américaine, qui a mis fin à ses jours à l’âge de 26 ans. Personnalité radicale et insaisissable, Levy est considéré comme un poète du livre (a book artist) : il a écrit de la poésie en ayant toujours à l’esprit l’«objet livre», au point d’être considéré comme le précurseur des zines, ces livrets originaux autoproduits en tirage limité, réalisés au moyen de photocopieuses rudimentaires.

 

La troisième exposition personnelle à caractère historique est consacrée à une autre figure légendaire de la poésie concrète, l’Anglais Dom Sylvester Houédard (1924-1992). Prêtre bénédictin, théologien et agent secret de l’armée anglaise pendant la guerre, «dsh» fut non seulement un extraordinaire poète concret, mais aussi le théoricien d’une nouvelle approche de la spiritualité, de la philosophie et de l’art. Il a notamment travaillé avec Gustav Metzger, Yoko Ono et John Cage, parmi tant d’autres.

 

Spoken Worlds to the Word et Word Squares, une exposition personnelle de Karl Holmqvist

Si la première facette de cette exposition est consacrée à la poésie concrète –  poésie qui joue sur les effets typographiques des mots sur la page – un second volet intitulé Spoken Worlds to the Word se déploie au deuxième étage, où est également présentée l’exposition personnelle Word Squares de Karl Holmqvist. Celui-ci accueillera un riche programme de performances et lectures de poèmes et textes littéraires par Karl Holmqvist, Cally Spooner, Giovanni Fontana, Vincent Barras, Elizabeth Lebon, Orion Scohy, Laura Vazquez, Sebastian Dicenaire, Anne Le Troter, Cia Rinne, Tomomi Adachi ou encore Chris Mann.

Sur ce même étage, le projet I lick Chopin, proposé par le duo Invernomuto, est une sélection de production musicales, dont les paroles mettent à l’honneur le mot parlé et enregistré et qui s’inscrivent consciemment ou non, dans la lignée de Henri Chopin, avec entre autres Ben Patterson, King Tubby, Rp Boo, Dennis Tyfus, Halim El-Dabh, Rammelzee, Napalm Death ou encore PNL.

 

Cinema Dynamo

Une vidéo YouTube ou un GIF animé peuvent-ils être considérés comme une forme de poésie ? Internet fournit nombre d’équivalents des formes poétiques traditionnelles – comme les sonnets et les Haïku – avec par exemple les140 caractères de Twitter, les images carrées d'Instagram, les courts clips vidéo et les «Stories» éphémères rendues populaires par Snapchat et plus tard intégrées à d'autres plates-formes. La langue s’empare d’une multitude de nouvelles formes en ligne. Avec sa sélection d’œuvres d’Internet-poetry, Steve Roggenbuck nous rappelle que, puisque le langage est partout, la poésie l’est aussi.

Parallèlement, le Cinema Dynamo accueillera le programme Poésie pour les yeux & cinéma pour les oreilles conçu par Carla Demierre avec les cinépoèmes et films parlants de Pierre Alferi ; la carte postale radiophonique de Jérôme Game ; les poèmes du mois de Laura Vazquez, les créations sonores d’Anne Le Troter, Cia Rinne, Sébastien Roux, un pièce audio-visuelle d’Orion Scohy ou encore.

Invité par le Centre à participer à l’exposition From Concrete to Liquid to Spoken Worlds to the Word, Ceel Mogami de Haas (one gee in fog) a également retenu deux films de l’artiste britannique Danielle Dean.

Cette exposition protéiforme s’accompagne d’une série de lectures, performances et se déploiera dans tous les espaces du Centre, des salles d’exposition au Cinema Dynamo, jusqu’aux bureaux des collaboratrices et collaborateurs du Centre où Beckett Mingwen installera un long poème intitulé Seven-oh-six.

Enfin, La bibliothèque, structure élémentaire et autoportante, dessinée par les architectes de l’Atelier ACTM accueillera un choix de livres dédiés à la poésie contemporaine sélectionnés par des maisons d’édition indépendante: Abstract Editions, Black Ocean, Black Radish Books, Canarium Books, Contrat Maint, Elis Press, Futurepoem Books, Héros Limite, LemonMelon, Occasional papers.

Le projet From Concrete to Liquid to Spoken Worlds to the Word est produit par le Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève, sur une idée d’Andrea Bellini, qui assure le commissariat des expositions personnelles d’Henri Chopin, D. A. Levy et Dom Sylvester Houédard et codirige, en collaboration avec Mathieu Copeland, l’exposition du deuxième étage et les projets invités.

 

Programme des interventions

 

Mardi 30 mai 2017

From Concrete to Liquid to spoken Worlds to the Word

Henri Chopin, Karl Holmqvist, D. A. Levy et Dom Sylvester Houédard

 

18.00-21.00
Vernissage de l’exposition, Centre d’Art Contemporain

19.00
Word Squares, performance de Karl Holmqvist, 2e étage

21.00-04.00
Fête d’inauguration avec Palm Wine, Jim C Nedd, Pit, Gigiotto del Vecchio, La Gravière

 

Vendredi 2, samedi 3
& vendredi 9 juin 2017

3+1

Une proposition de Carla Demierre et Vincent Barras

3+1 soirées pour explorer les pratiques du langage au croisement de l’art, la poésie et la musique. Pensées comme un micro festival de lectures et performances, les soirées 3+1 proposeront deux programmations en écho, conçues respectivement par Carla Demierre et Vincent Barras. Sorte de festival en deux temps, les soirées 3+1 produisent en stéréophonie un paysage sensible des pratiques textuelles et langagières après Chopin et réuniront plusieurs générations d’artistes, poètes et musiciens. Ce programme se prolongera lors d’une 4ème soirée en off à @PTT, (147, Route de Chêne, Chêne-Bougeries) avec lectures, conduites poétiques et autres gestes sonores avec Cléa Chopard, Rudy Decelière Carla Demierre, Berclaz de Sierre, Jérémie Gindre, Noemi Lapzeson, Louis Schild et Thibault Walter.

Vendredi 2 juin, 19.00
Interventions de Sebastian Dicenaire, Andrea Marioni, Elizabeth Lebon, Cia Rinne

Samedi 3 juin, 19.00
Interventions de Gilles Furtwängler, Anne Le Troter, Marie-Luce Ruffieux, Orion Scohy, Laura Vazquez

Vendredi 9 juin, 19.00
Interventions de Tomomi Adashi, Vincent Barras, Chris Mann

 

Vendredi 16 juin 2017

Action-poésie

Une proposition de Michel Giroud en collaboration avec Joachim Montessius

Proche d’Henri Chopin, l’écrivain en tous genres (peintre oral et tailleur en zigzags : gestes, voix, sonorités, mots, schémas, images, photos et vidéos) Michel Giroud (alias Gerwulf et el coyote) propose une conférence en deux actes ainsi que des performances/actions.

19.00

Conférence autour de la poésie sonore et de la dactylopoésie d'Henri Chopin
Actionvoixélectronique de Joachim Montessuis
Transe collective IAM de Montessuis/Gerwulf

 

DATES À NE PAS MANQUER

Vernissage et inauguration: le 30 mai 2017, 18-21h

Exposition: 31.05 — 27.08.17

 

Télécharger le dossier de presse

 

 
Subventionné par la Ville de Genève